Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 

 

 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Speer Hot-Cor bullet.
 
This Bullet Has Been The Most accurate Bullet In my 300 WIN MAG.My rifle and this bullet in a 150 grain flat base,shoots under 1/2 INCH at 100Y,under 1 INCH AT 200Y,AND UNDER 3 INCHES at 500Y,3 shot groups.I shot a large doe this year with it,it was devastating to say the least.I chronographed the load at 3300 fps so if there is no bullet failure at this speed there wont be any,this bullet is great,I have tried alot of different bullets,the flat base bergers and these shoot the best.I tried several hornady flat base bullets and boatail bullets,they drift more at extreme ranges,than the speer.I will say ,this is the only bullet that will be going down the barrel of my remington 700 xcr long range tactical rifle from now on.
Submitted by: sureshot
Date: 1/25/2010
Rifle used: remington
Caliber: 300 winchester magnum
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Like the other gentleman here, I haven't figured out how to cook magazines, however, I can speak toward the Speer hot-cor bullet in .243, 308 and .358 calibers. I shoot the 105gr .243 bullet in my 6mm rem., the 180gr. .308 in my 30-06 (more than one rifle), my 300 win mag, and the .358 250gr. in my Whelen. They are all accurate, giving groups at 100yds of .8 to 1.2in. I have killed Kansas Whitetail with them on several occasions, and never recovered a single bullet (ranges from 30 to 300yds+) No bullet failures, and no lost game. So, while they may not kill books very well, they seem to work just fine on deer.
Submitted by: Elton Green
Date: 10/5/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber: .243, .358, .308
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shooting a 120gr speer hotcor in a 264 win mag. Gun is a ruger m77 stainless running it 3400 fps handloads are 68grs. of Imr 7828ssc. Groups are under an inch at 100yds and just over an inch at 200 yds. Have not tried this on game yet. Can't wait.
Submitted by: kevin
Date: 9/29/2009
Rifle used: ruger m77 stainless
Caliber: 264 win mag
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I am not sure how to cook a magazine, nor how they compare to animal flesh and bone, but I do know that over many years I have taken many fine mule deer with my 7mm-Mag and the Speer 130 grain Speer Hot-Cor bullet. It has always preformed flawlessly and several of the bullets I did recover from the animals were at least 80% weight retention or more. That's pretty good for an inexpensive head. I also have never lost a deer I shot with that Speer bullet. Entrance holes were small and exit holes were always between a golf ball and a baseball size hole. Try some on game, they do eat better than magazines...
Submitted by: Blazer
Date: 1/30/2009
Rifle used: Ruger 77
Caliber: 7MM Remington Mag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
This is a very sturdy bullet in my .35 Whelen, and give about 1" accuracy at 100yds. I have shot it through both sides of a 3/8" thick steel tank at 250yds, with clean penetration every time. It goes through deer from end to end without any problem at 300yds or more. Check out Whelen's Northwoods Trails 35 caliber site and you'll find it used on moose regularly in Canada. It DOES NOT have jacket separation problems when kept at 2600 to 2700 fps, and shoots about as flat as a 30-06 shoots a 180gr. corelokt, or winchester powerpoint, but adds at least 1000foot-pounds of energy to the mix. It is a very good bullet, and I intend to experiment to see if I can get it to go inside an inch at 100yds consistently. (my velocitys with it are around 2660fps using a Chrony chronograph).
Submitted by: Elton Green
Date: 9/21/2008
Rifle used: Remington 700 CDL
Caliber: .358
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
This bullet is the worst when it comes to fragmentation and core/jacket separation. Even Nosler Ballistic Tips retain more weight than these. I shot a stack of magazines with the 130 grain .277" Hot-Cor and was not impressed with my findings. The bullet retained only 19% of it's original weight! Every other bullet I tested beat the Hot-Cor by a wide margin, when it came to retained weight. Essentially, a twisted piece of jacket was the largest fragment left. I don't know why Speer even bothers with the Hot-Cor process, because it certainly does not perform the way it was designed to.
Submitted by: Ryan Philip Grandone
Date: 3/17/2008
Rifle used: Browning A-Bolt
Caliber: .270 Winchester
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
This is the jacket seperation king of all from 270 to 358 in my experiance.
Submitted by: C Gardner
Date: 2/2/2008
Rifle used: factory and custom
Caliber: all
Hunting performance: 2 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
9.3mm 270gr at 2600FPS worked well on 10 moose & 6 bears I shot with it. Works well on deer & even expands on coyotes. Bullets I rocoverd from moose at longer ranges weighed about 200 grains.
Submitted by: Paul
Date: 11/6/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
The Speer I shoot is in a .35 Whelen, and I shoot the 250gr. bullet. It is very accurate, averaging about 1 in. to 1 1/4 in. at 100 yds. It has great penetration and holds together well.
Submitted by: Elton Green
Date: 9/30/2007
Rifle used: Rem 700 CDL
Caliber: .35 Whelen
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy