Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 

 

 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Taipan HP bullet.
 
I regularly use 55gr taipan hp's in a 22-250. terminal performance is impressive. the bullets expand violently creating a devastating wound channel. for those wanting to limit meat or pelt destruction shot placment would need to be very specific. downrange accuracy is excellent with shots on foxes out to 300m taken almost every trip. roo's, goats and medium to large pigs have all been taken with ease, though in this calibre i would'nt be confident on large deer or large boars. i also use the 150gr taipan in .303 brit for target shooting with consistent results
Submitted by: wm
Date: 5/31/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have started using the .308 Taipan 130gr HP bullet for taking kangaroos. The load is explosive and it is also stable at extreme ranges (200m + at night), where I have taken the required head-shots. I have been using Hornady 60gr HP's in my .22-250 (also for roos) but I am now planning to change over to Taipans when my current stock of Hornady bullets runs out.
Submitted by: Biggles
Date: 5/2/2005
Rifle used: K98 Mauser with .308 Maddco Target Barrel
Caliber: >308
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use taipan 130 grn HP, in my .270 win, with 54 grn of AR2209 powder,, This bullet impresses me with its 1" group at distances up to 200 mts ( 220 yds ). It is too strong for Roo's as it tends to go straight thru then ( being soft animals ) I cannot wait to go and nail some feral pigs, and provided there is not too much mud on them , I expect good results Bryan O'Halloran Wonthaggi. Australia
Submitted by: Bryan O'Halloran
Date: 7/19/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use Taipan Hp's, 150gn HP for my 303 grade service shoot's and 40gn HP for my 22 Hornet and have found them to be very accuate bullets as well as hard hitting ones
Submitted by: TonyC.
Date: 3/28/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I load the 60 grain Taipan hollow point in .243 Winchester calibre. Great for Fox, Goat, Feral cats, Dingoes and Kangaroos. Too lightly constructed for pigs [ hogs ]. From North West Australia.
Submitted by: Emu.
Date: 1/26/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I load the 60 grain Taipan hollow point in .243 Winchester. Great for 'roos [ kangaroos ] and foxes, feral cats, dingoes and goats. I load the 250 grain pointed soft point in .375 Holland and Holland Magnum. I shoot Camels and Donkeys for pet-meat in North-West Australia. The Taipan is basically a soft projectile like the Winchester CXP1/ CXP2 rated projectiles, opens up rapidly, kills quickly placed in the heart/ lung area and holds its mushroom shape without breaking up. Not for rear raking shots, but devastating on frontal brisket shots to the junction of neck & chest for camel/ donkey.
Submitted by: Emu.
Date: 1/26/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Australia made projectiles, widelly used by Macropod Harvesters (kangaroo shooters) in the State of Queensland. These projectiles are capable of very good accuracy and enormous knock-down power. The HP 55gr on .223 and HP 80gr for the .243 are mostly used. The "head shot" legal requirement for the shooting of kangaroos, is easely achieved up to 300 yeards.
Submitted by: George Valentine
Date: 1/11/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
An excellent bullet (53 grs) with great takedown characteristics good penetration etc
Submitted by: nick windsor
Date: 11/20/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Taipan bullets from north queensland australia made the way bullets used to be made pure lead cores and explosive results the 53 gr h/p behind 37,5 gr of varget really do good things in my 220 swift
Submitted by: nick windsor
Date: 11/20/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy