Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Register
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Swift Scirocco bullet.
 
I shoot a 338-378 Weatherby accumark the velocity is at 3250 with the 210 bullet, 3400 fps with the 180's. This gun is probably over kill for most things in Wyoming but there's no substitute for dead! I have shot 6 bull elk,1 moose and 6 deer since buying this gun and not one animal has walked 5 yds. I recovered the bullets on some of the larger animals, all perfect mushrooms. The best I have shot to date.
Submitted by: John
Date: 9/3/2012
Rifle used: Weatherby Accumark
Caliber: 338-378
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I used the 180gr. Scirroco on an Alaskan moose hunt. The moose was walking accross a lake straight away, and I didnt have a good shot at the vitals. Shot him below the hump on his back breaking him down immediately. He swung to the side and I planted another in his neck. The first bullet had him anchored, but I was not taking any chances. Bullets were both recovered and retained 91% original weight. I have this hunt on video and was so impressed we sent them to Swift along with the two bullets recovered. They produce magnum result out of the "Old Reliable 30:06".
Submitted by: Bob Crane
Date: 5/23/2011
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I used a 180gr Scirocco on a Grizzly Bear hunt in Alaska. The shot was almost straight on at about 150yds. The bullet went straight thru the chest and exited behind the right shoulder. The exit wound was about 1 1/2 wide. My brother fired the backup shot immediately which dropped the bear, so I could not attest to the bullets terminal performance. However given the location of the wound channel I suspect it would not have gone far.
Submitted by: ats.hunter
Date: 8/27/2010
Rifle used: Rem 700
Caliber: .300 RUM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 4
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I currently shoot both 7MM RUM and 300 RUM and use the 150gr Scirocco in my 7mm and the 180gr Scirocco in my 300 RUM. While I do not claim to be a great long distance paper shooter, out to 500 yards I am very capable of putting my deer down. When I say down, the furtherest I have had a deer run was 60 yards. ( I don't like tracking anymore). The bullet holds its weight with great expansion. I do load my own rounds, but I do no push it to the max. Using a Mil Dot in my scope has certainly helped in those long shots, but more importantly is the hours on the sand bag practicing. I have shot alot of rounds over the years and I really like the performance of those Swift bullets.
Submitted by: SpecOps
Date: 11/23/2007
Rifle used: Remington
Caliber: 7mmRUM and 300RUM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
The extra velocity the 270 Wby Mag produces comes at a price...I have sworn by Nosler Ballistic Tips for years and love their terminal performance. However, I had a problem w/ them producing softball sized exit holes with my new 270 Wby Mag so I tried the Scirocco's in hopes that I would create less work for my taxidermist. Not only was the terminal performance outstanding but just setting them on top of my pet load yielded a .335 3-shot group @100yds right out of the chute. Outstanding accuracy and terminal performance with true magnum cartridge velocities has been my experience. Great penetration and energy transfer married with reasonable exit wounds... 12+ big game animals and counting!!
Submitted by: GBoswell
Date: 10/2/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I Love my 300rum, but its over kill for most anything in North America under 500 yrds during the 2006 Montana hunting season I shot a cow elk that was just over 300yrds with remington factory ammo (150gr Sciroco) it was a text book heart shot but the ENTRANCE AND EXIT HOLES WERE THE SAME SIZE.
Submitted by: cwbysrvyr
Date: 12/10/2006
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Myself, I could never give an accuracy performance rating greater than 4 on ANY box of factory ammunition. Of course I know we're talking about BULLETS, but due to the price of ammunition today you should get what you pay for in the total package. Remington Scirocco's (150gr.,3/4"@100yds possible)provide this more-so than any other package I've yet tried. I really would have to insist on this load in a crunch with no reloads available. Else, I wouldn't even go to the field.
Submitted by: Ops
Date: 6/30/2006
Rifle used: Renington 700 BDL Stainless/Walnut/Box
Caliber: .30-06
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 4
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Factory Remington ammo. Used the 180 gr. load on an antelope hunt. Gun zeroed at 250, chronoed at @ 3350. Aimed at high broadside shoulder at 330. Hit exactly point of aim=one very dead 100lb doe. R/L shoulders broken, sternum broken, atrium and all great vessels severed,and lungs destroyed. I thought I missed she went down so fast. Light animal, but I won't hesitate to use this reloading and on larger, tougher game.
Submitted by: E. Sorensen
Date: 4/29/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've done extensive long range testing with 180 gr. Sciroccos in my 300 RUM. They are very accurate at any range. And have a controlled expansion that is suitable for any range and target medium. This is however, way too much gun for whitetail under 300 yds. I shot a 120 lb. doe broadside at 80 yds. It was at a full-all-out, eyes laid back run. The bullet passed through the kidneys and created a perfectly round 2" exit hole that burnt the hair completely off in a 1" circle around the exit hole. The deer at full speed laid only 6ft. from point of impact stone dead. Once skinned, the meat was entirely purple from head to ham and the bullet never touched bone. The strangest thing I ever saw. As far as front shoulder shots, just take the hams and let the rest lay. I use this for elk only. And have taken 2 bulls with it. This bullet performs outstanding. The mushroom and weight retention is picture perfect.
Submitted by: usmcvet
Date: 3/12/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used the Swift Scirroco 150 gr bullet in my 30-06 for 3 seasons now and have had very nice results. I have shot deer from 30 yds to 300 yds and the "inside the game" bullet performance has been extrordinary. I shot a 200+ pound buck at 40 yds in the chest as he was quartering towards me and recovered the bullet in the opposite side just under the skin. The bullet was a PERFECT mushroom over 2X diam and weight retention was excellent. Accuracy with this bullet is sub m.o.a. and gave me the confidence to shoot a doe at 300 yds, perfect broadside breaking both shoulders, great wound channel, and a 1" exit hole. This bullet is a performer!!! It has close and long range lethality, good weight retention, and excellent accuracy.
Submitted by: Southern Sportsman
Date: 12/22/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Excellent accuracy and penetration. I shoot the .308 and have yet to recover a bullet. All game shot has gone a few feet or less. I was shooting the Win/Nosler Combined Tech Ballistic Silvertip. Jacket separation everytime I hit an animal, never a "pass through."
Submitted by: T.P. O'Hare
Date: 10/20/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
This bullet may prove to be the best combination of accuaracy and performance yet. In my 7mm Rem Mag, I have shot whitetails ranging from 50 feet to 125 yards. The one shot at 50 feet was shot in the chest facing me. The bullet traveled the length of the deer and lodged under the skin of a hind quarter. It was a perfect mushroom and retained 94% of its weight. The one shot at 125 yards was a typical broadside shot with a good exit wound. Both deer mentioned traveled less than 20 yards. Some experimentation with powder and seating depth is necessary to find accuracy.
Submitted by: Smoky
Date: 7/16/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy