Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Register
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Speer SPBT bullet.
 
I used the Speer BTSP in my 30-06 this year for deer hunting. The first buck was shot in the shoulder at 50 yards, then ran 30 yards before dropping. The vitals were heavily damaged indicating immediate bullet upset. The bullet was recovered in a perfect mushroom in the hide and appeared to have ideal weight retention for a deer bullet(45%) with no core separation. The second buck was a lung shot at 75 yards and was a pass-through with the same damage to the vitals. Since this is their lightest constructed hunting bullet in their line, I was impressed on how well it held its core at such a short distance after going through bone. These are very accurate bullets with great ballistic coefficiency making them great long range deer bullets. These are the most accurate bullets I have put through my rifle so far, even better than Noslers. The price is good too. This bullet did exactly what it was designed to do and I was very pleased. It probably doesn't have ideal weight retention for moose or elk in my opinion, but you could move up to their Deep Curl or Grand Slam bullet for thicker skinned game.
Submitted by: MetalMike
Date: 12/2/2011
Rifle used: Weatherby Vanguard
Caliber: 30-06
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've been at the loading bench for well over two and a half decades with regard to shotgun, high powered rifle and handgun loading. So in short, I'm not wet behind the ears, so to speak. The 130 grain Speer Soft Point BT loaded with 71 grains of RL22 @ 22 off the lands in a 24" barrel 700 and 710 action has delivered consistent single hole accuracy with velocity near 3400 fps at the muzzle at 4000 feet elevation in varying temperatures. With this winning combination I've dropped elk, deer, bear, antelope and numerous fur bearing animals at distances only a skilled bench rest shooter would trust as the gospel truth. Of course I've attained velocity and accuracy results with other bullet types and makes just not the bullet retention results of the Speer in this weight and style. Sierra, Barnes and Hornady have produced impressive paper punching results but lacking in retention on big game. In Northern Arizona I shot a bull elk at a distance of 578 yds. with the Speer 130 BT. My shot placement was limited and allowed me to only put it in the back end facing me. I ended up driving the bullet straight up the back bone through every single vertebrae stopping finnally at the base of the neck. When I retrieved the bullet and had cleaned it well it had mushroomed nearly perfect and retained an amazing 87% of its orginal 13 grains. My experience with Barnes has been as well very exceptional with consideration to retention, but lacking in the accuracy dept. at extended distances.
Submitted by: Fastnflat
Date: 9/4/2010
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
In 300win mag I have killed deer from 10 yards to 450 yards I have yet to track a deer all have fallen in there tracks. H4350 75grains powder with Browning SS 24 inch barrel. This is a very hot load IMO so i am not recomending anyone to use this! If you do be carful and pull the trigger the 1st 10 or so with a string.
Submitted by: resqrick
Date: 11/6/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Have used the 165 grain spbt to take in excess of 100 deer....have recovered only seven bullets, rest were pass through. In my opinion the best bullet for the 30/06.
Submitted by: Ralph
Date: 9/5/2005
Rifle used: Win Model 70
Caliber: 30/06
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
A lot of people do steve some people who know where there rifle hits at an exact distance and who owns a good digital range finder can do it AND THEY DONT BUCK FEVER-OUT it just takes alot of practice (200 rounds a month at varying distances and terain) you will get there in time remember a guess is a guess which is what most 400,500,600,700,800,900,and 1000,shots are . But with practice a spotter and a good range finder and a reliable witness these shots are very possible. U.S.M.C.MARKSMAN have been doing this for years with the .308 and.30-06 with less than perfect rifles for years (semi autos). For precision shooting and repeatability you need a bolt action rifle. But your right by asking how many people can actually pull this off. and not lose game just remember .5m.o.a is only 2 m.o.a at 400 yds. Shoot straight know where your zero is and how far is your target and what is your trajectory and or velocity.And please dont use game as practice.
Submitted by: DON COMPTON IDAHO
Date: 4/16/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Longest shot was 180 yards. Deer ran maybe 25 yards.Complete pass through. Have taking many deer over the years from under the tree out to 180 yards. About 50% droped in there tracks. The rest only travel a few yards with good exit and blood trail. I just really wounder,how many of these guys really are shooting deer at 400 yards!!!! I shoot a Browning 30.06 BAR
Submitted by: Steve
Date: 4/9/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Excellent accuracy. Sub moa from shilen barrel(26"). 53.5gr H4831, fed 215, vel 3080 fps. Shot 1 mule deer 130 yards behind shoulder and took out far shoulder.
Submitted by: R. Sofaly
Date: 3/21/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Have shot several deer over the years with the Speer 165 BTSP .308 in my Rem 788 .308 with 18 1/2" barrel. Most recently, a 200 yard shot on a 170 lb whitetail. Shot was on an angle towards me, hit at base of neck and destroyed the heart. This was the only shot that did not exit-- had to field dress the deer in the dark and did not recover the bullet. All others were at ranges of 30-115 yards and passed through, even when hitting bone. Extremely accurate bullet in my rifle, all have been one-shot kills-- the farthest any have travelled after being hit was 50 feet, all but two dropped in their tracks. Pet load is 51.0 gr 760.
Submitted by: Rick
Date: 2/3/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used a 100 grain Speer BTSP in a 25-06 for years and love it. My chronographed "Muzzle velocity" is 3203. I have taken five antelope at ranges from 30 yards to 300 yards with good bullet performance. Many say the 100 grain is too light for shooting big game, but at least in my case, I have found the bullet performs very well. Not only does it to the job, but it shoots extremely well in my particular rifle.
Submitted by: David Vance
Date: 8/30/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy