Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 

 

 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Sierra Matchking bullet.
 
The Sierra Matchking 303 combined with BLC-2 is the only recipe I've tried which will shoot accurately in Lee-Enfield No4s with either 2 or 5 groove rifling.
Submitted by: Lemming
Date: 6/1/2014
Rifle used: Lede Enfield No4
Caliber: 303
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
After years of begging Sierra to make a .323 diameter Match bullet, they came through. It is a true Match bullet with a low BC. The bullet weighs 200 grains which means it will be a true long range bullet. Accuracy is very good as one would expect. I my 8mm Remington Magnum 29.5" barreled rifle I'm able to push the bullet to 3,300 fps using 84 grains of W860S powder. In a normal 24" barrel you should be able to reach 3,150-200 fps. On paper I'm getting .80" five shot groups at 200 yards. 2.50" groups at 500 yards. In the surplus rifles shooting 8x57mm Mauser, these bullets should really bring out the accuracy of your rifles.
Submitted by: Rapidrob
Date: 3/13/2013
Rifle used: Weatherby Athena custum rifle
Caliber: 8MM Remingtom Magnum
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Many folks forget the 6.5 HPBT MK 120gr bullet when loading for the 260. I have five 260 guns and the 120 with H-414 is magic in each one. Highest velocity and best accuracy with deadly effect on thin skinned critters. A .10 to .13 inch group is common and 3,200 fps is very achievable with H-414. It turns a rifle into a laser gun. Chucks and crows are just targets.
Submitted by: Ed
Date: 4/17/2012
Rifle used: Rem 700 / AR-10T 1-8 twist Lothar Walther barrel
Caliber: 260
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I loaded 47 grains of IMR 4895 and 168 grain Matchkings for my M1 Garand.... all I can say is Phenominal.... less than 1 inch at 100 yards sandbaged off a bench. Sierra holds very tight tolerances and from what I hear you can eat off the plant floor. What's that tell ya?
Submitted by: Ralph From Jersey
Date: 7/29/2011
Rifle used: M1 Garand
Caliber: .30-06
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I am loading with 42.7gr Re15, Lapua brass from a DTA SRS 22", 100yds is less than 1/4" and at 300yds groups are sightly over 5/8", these loads shoot slightly better than the samer charge with hornady 168gr A-Max.
Submitted by: Mark
Date: 2/20/2011
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot SMK 175gr BTHP through my custom .308 Win. I get some of the best results from the SMK over other bullets ,includeing Hornady.
Submitted by: Whit
Date: 1/10/2011
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Outstanding groups sub MOA out to 600yrds I will not buy another type of bullet for my 22-250. 52g Sierra Matchking is #1 in my book...
Submitted by: Mark
Date: 11/3/2009
Rifle used: Ruger No1
Caliber: 22-250
Hunting performance: 4 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Haven't tried anything that produces tighter groups with my .308 (168 gr/2625 fps / -1/2 moa). Used them for hunting this year, rather than the Nosler BTs I usually load up for deer season, just to see if I could come up with one "do everything" load. Shot 3 Texas Hill Country deer (each dressing between 90 - 100 lbs - good size by local standards) and 1 200+ lbs sow hog with them. Deer #1 was shot just behind the shoulders with the bullet exiting through a rib - deer ran about 40 yds. Deer #2 was shot head-on through the chest and I recovered a bullet fragment just under the skin about three inches in front of one of the hams - this deer also ran about 40 yds. Deer #3 was another head-on shot through the chest, never did find the bullet, but it was in there somewhere - deer dropped in it's tracks. The sow was shot between the eyes, with the bullet travelling down her neck and into her shoulder, breaking it - she also didn't go anywhere. While the results from the shots were good, the two deer that didn't drop on the spot didn't leave much of a blood trail (despite massive internal bleeding), which makes me think twice about using them for hunting. Will try the GameKings to see if they're as accurate (heard they are).
Submitted by: Rem308
Date: 3/9/2007
Rifle used: Custom Remington 700 VS
Caliber: .308
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I started reloading with the SMKs and had very good results with my 300WSM. (used the 155 palma and 168). Then I tried Lapua Scenars and they outperform the sierras every time in my rifle. Ever since, I have stayed with the Lapua bullets (also in my new .338 TRG 42)
Submitted by: Zorro
Date: 1/23/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Ive used this bullet at 1K targets and found it to be accurate to 1 moa. Ive also hit black bear with it out of my 300 win mag and large portions of the bullet exit the far side. The bears were very impressed.
Submitted by: B. Luscombe
Date: 12/12/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
These bullets are great. Although not good for hunting, they are great for target shooting. These bullets have produced the best accuracy out of my military surplus Mosin Nagants and is capable of sub-moa with my M39 Mosin Nagant if I do my part.
Submitted by: Lee Mattingly
Date: 11/28/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
In my heavy 308 Win, this bullet performs 100%. At 100 yards groupings are in the sub .350 range. Even on game I have used this bullet with success. The expansion (or maybe lack of expansion) makes it not suited for hunting, but a well placed shot on a small thins skinned animal, will do the job.
Submitted by: Morten S
Date: 23.02.2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy