Quantcast
 
      
 
Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Register
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Nosler Partition bullet.
 
Over the years have killed well into the hundred on whitetails. Weights range from 60lbs to 300 lbs. bullet performance was flawless. Bullet shoots really good but game performance is where it is at.
Submitted by: Malli
Date: 7/8/2014
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
i shot deer 350plus to 60yrds with my 270weatherby mags and dropped them dead not to have them but rear up on thiier hind leags and fall dead , not to mention the hornady spire pt and sst , and the accubond they are the fineest bullets you can buy
Submitted by: hawk
Date: 3/9/2013
Rifle used: weatherby
Caliber: 270mag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot a 500# Boar black bear at 225 yards with 115 grain Nosler Partition with a 257 Weatherby Mark V. The bullet entered his left shoulder and penetrated his whole body length and stopped under the hide in his right rump. The bear near moved a inch, and the bullet performed beautifully !
Submitted by: Scratch
Date: 11/25/2012
Rifle used: Weatherby Mark V
Caliber: 257
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
shot two deer at 365 ranged yds. with 243 100 grain nos. partition the deer were standing one behind the other with a single shot the bullet did not exit second deer both dropped were they stood groups are half inch at 100 yds.
Submitted by: dwight d.
Date: 6/17/2012
Rifle used: savage 110
Caliber: 243
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
The 117 gr Nosler is no longer made in .25 cal. When I loaded it I used 52.5 gr of H4831. The .308 in 180 gr is in a .30-06 using 55.5 gr of IMR 4831. Never did either bullet fail to drop a deer in its tracks. The .25 dropped a buck so quick at 130 yards that I thought I missed him. The Ruger #1 shot dime size groups with that bullet at 100. The .308 180's out of a Rem. 760 pump would hold five shots that I could lay a quarter over and cover all of the holes. My son has the Rem now. The Nosler Partition bullet is my hunting bullet and has been for 30 years. The .25-06 was just shy of the lands, but the Rem. was a box mag and COAL was determined by the magazine.
Submitted by: Louie Louie
Date: 11/25/2011
Rifle used: Rem 760 and Ruger 1
Caliber: .30 and .257
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
after reading T green form texas post about his experiences with the 115 grain out of his 257 roberts I would just like to add that i shoot the same caliber and bullet and must agree with his assesment only i have taken a moose and a cow elk each at about 75 yards and 100 yards along with mule and whitail deer.i recoverd the bullets from the moose and elk ond the front lead section was gone-common in these bullets but with the deer they all passed through.They are still the king of bullets.
Submitted by: southren alberta hunter
Date: 3/26/2010
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
after reading T green form texas post about his experiences with the 115 grain out of his 257 roberts I would just like to add that i shoot the same caliber and bullet and must agree with his assesment only i have taken a moose and a cow elk each at about 75 yards and 100 yards along with mule and whitail deer.i recoverd the bullets from the moose and elk ond the front lead section was gone-common in these bullets but with the deer they all passed through.They are still the king of bullets.
Submitted by: southren alberta hunter
Date: 3/26/2010
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot a nice 8 pt buck at 368 yards measured with a laser range finder. The bullet performed beautifully. The 150 grain Nosler Partition shot from a Browning A-Bolt Stainless Stalker, with a Leupold Scope went in on the second rib from the front on the left side and traversed the body cavity coming out the right shoulder right on the point of the shoulder. The lungs were gone and exit wound was large with an easy blood trail to follow. Being a southern boy and usually hunting in the woods this is the longest shot I have ever made. The bullets I shoot are custom loads made up by Bob Shell of Obsolete Ammo fame. I fully recommend him to you for your ammunition needs he is the best. I tried Federal Premium and could not get them to group. These 150's from Bob clover leaf at 100 yards and are very consistant. Good hunting and good luck Ron
Submitted by: Ron Ryder
Date: 1/12/2010
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Always heard that the partitions were too soft or not accurate enough. Not true in my case. Recoil sensitive friend used 180 grain NP in 308 win in South Africa on Kudu, Wildebeest, Impala, Blesbok, Springbok and Zebra. All were one shot kills(and believe me, if the bullet is wrong or the shot is wrong you won't get a Wildebeest or Zebra or Kudu with one shot!). All animals expired within 40 yards of were they were when they were shot and accuracy with a 1 in 10 twist barrelled gun was less than 1 MOA.
Submitted by: Michael Biles
Date: 6/11/2009
Rifle used: Montana 1999
Caliber: 308 Win
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use the 250 NP on feral hogs here in Texas. They drop in their tracks - never recovered a single bullet. Nuff said. I use the 115 gr NP in my 257 Rbts I have only recoverd 1 bullet in about 20 deer shot. Never lost a deer, buck or doe in 15 years with this bullet. I get .75 inch groups with my 257 24 inch Douglas barrel. My whelen also has a Douglas barrel 25 inch. I get 1 - 1 1/4 inch groups with it at 100 yds. I'm sold.
Submitted by: T. Green
Date: 3/5/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have shot elk at ranges from 125 yards to 500 yards. The farthest that any have gone was 25 yards. 3 dropped in their tracks. All bullets penetrated fully with no recovery. Excellent bullets.
Submitted by: R. Larson
Date: 2/12/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
250 grain partition,used on water buffalo.Fom 25m to 300m. all projectiles performed as they are supposed to.loss of front section, mushroomed perfectly.All buff down quickly. This projectile absolutly smashes boars, never had a boar take a step after being hit with this projectile. only recovered one 250gn projectile from a large boar shot from 120 m texas shot projectile recovered cutting out the jaw. Great performance on Sambar deer. Clients from USA changed to partitions after using this combo .338 and 250grain.
Submitted by: mic
Date: 11/1/2008
Rifle used: rem 700
Caliber: .338 win mag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 4
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
i have found this bullet great on mid size deer like fallow out to 240m the bullet is very accruate 1" groups @200m . the bullets i have recovered have retained between 70-80% of orgional weight.
Submitted by: griffin
Date: 8/31/2008
Rifle used: sako 85 varmit 20" barrel
Caliber: .243
Hunting performance: 4 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Load the 95 nosler partition, with 41 gns 760. Excellent on boars,fallow buck,donkey`s camels. all recovered projectiles have front section loss , but thats what they are designed to do.
Submitted by: mic
Date: 8/31/2008
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
run this load out of a styer,mild load for my kids to shoot excellent performance on boars, out to 200m. 41 gr 760 just under 1 inch 100m.
Submitted by: mic
Date: 8/31/2008
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
This is the best bullet ever. I have used them in everything from 6mm Rem to 300 WBY mag and had no problems. In the 300 I have shot through aspen trees and still made lethal contact with an elk. I have shot antelope at 600 yards with a 25-06 and had them just lay over and die. There is no doubt that they are premuim quality bullets. As for accuracy, I shoot .547 4 shot groups with a cheap 270 win.
Submitted by: hwy40
Date: 3/22/2008
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I had herd that the Nosler Partition was the bullet to shot for big game. But i recently found out that they are probably a damn good bullet for prairie dog but there not for big game animals. I shot them out of my 338 win mag and at 225 grains. Last year i shot a cow elk at about 300 yards and that damn bullet went straight threw it. Leaving a 223 size hole going threw her lung. We chased her for close to 2 miles and finally got another shot i shot this time from about 175 yard and placed it right bellow her ear and she dropped. The first shot should have done it but dew to the lack of mushrooming if any it just zipped right threw. I will NEVER shoot Nosler Partitions again. But later that season my brother had started shooting the Barnes Triple Shocks out of a 338 win mag with 225 grains. He shot a cow at 250 and placed it right where i did but his cow made it about 35 yard then dropped. I started shooting the Barnes Triple Shocks and now im a firm believer. I will never shoot another bullet other than the Barnes Triple Shock.
Submitted by: Eric
Date: 3/8/2008
Rifle used: Winchester XTR
Caliber: 338 win mag
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've been shooting NP's in 25 and 30 cal. for the last 20 years. I started using them in my .257 and .300 Weatherbys. I wanted a bullet that would stay together at Weatherby velocities no matter what and they have never let me down. I've taken everything from prarie dogs to cape eland and who knows how many whitetail. On the right animal at the right range the nose will peal back to the partition sometimes leaving the jacket, sometimes not, but that is what they are supposed to do. Of the bullets I've recovered I would say 70% is the best weight retention I've found. I've have several that knocked whitetail down and left nothing ahead of the partition. I shot a wildebeest in Africa through a shoulder blade and then the heart. Upon dressing the skinners found it in the classic, under the skin on the off side, position. The blade was shattered, there was something left of the heart, but not much and the bullet pealed back to the partition. This was a 180 grain 30 cal. with a MV of 3,200 fps. A lot has changed over the last 20 years and I know there are some really great bullets out there nowadays, but I'm hooked on the NP's. Maybe my confidence is misplaced and this may sound like bragging but I have yet to lose an animal using them. My only criticism is that they are not the most accurate bullet in town. I can get my .257 Wby down from 1.25" t0 .75" groups using BT's but I don't trust them. For fine accuracy in my 6MM I go to Bergers.
Submitted by: Twud/Mark
Date: 3/8/2008
Rifle used: Mark V Wby's
Caliber: .257 and .300 Wbys
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Has anyone ever recovered a partition with lead still intact on the front portion. I have shot several deer and elk with 165 and 180 gr from a 300 win mag. I have recovered three and they all lost the lead in the front portion and weighed around 60% of normal. They don't expand very much and aren't that good of a choice for deer or smaller sized game unless you are using a light caliber and need the penetration. I prefer a bullet that gives a good mix of expansion and penetration with not too much of either one.
Submitted by: CHAM
Date: 10/27/2007
Rifle used: Browing A-Bolt
Caliber: 300 win mag
Hunting performance: 4 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shot thr 338 ultra. factory I shot 3 elk in Col. 1 was 300 yards hit in front shoulder and it dropped ,the bullet went through both shoulders. I had another at 110-120 made a bad shot and hit it in the hind quater went through the chest and had no exit the last elk I shot with this load blew me away I shot a cow elk less then 50 yards away the bullet went through her right behind the front shoulder and the hole was the size of a pencil she went 30 yars or soand died it's not made for close shots
Submitted by: D.Kelly
Date: 4/6/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Used hunting Buffalo in Northern Canada My Brno 374 H&H Magnum shoots 1.25" groups at 100yds, 2.5" groups at 200yds., 4" groups at 300yds, 5" groups at 400yds, and 6" groups at 500 yds. Powder-RL 15, 68 grains.
Submitted by: cliff price
Date: 4/3/2007
Rifle used: Brno CZ 550-H&H
Caliber: 375-magnum
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot him in the shoulders, dropped him in his tracks, front end of the bullet blew apart. Well I think the bullet did precisely what it was designed to do. I load NP in my rifles along with other bullets, but I pick the bullet for the application they are suited for. NP are reasonable in price but still give 60% weight retention. Accurate in most with little fuss. Penetration is good, a deer is not that thick. I shot a medium size white-tail buck head on in the chest at less than 30 yards with a 180gr. Trophy Bonded out of my 300 Win Mag @ 3200ft/sec + it only went 12" in. Did it preform well; yes. Would a NP do as well? Yes maybe 10". That is into a lot of spine. How well they penetrate is a matter of where there shot. Out of sixty or so deer my friends and I have shot with NP I have only recovered five bullets when I butchered them. The rest were pass throughs. And as for damage to the animal, fist size holes on the off side, blood all over the place. You want more; increase the caliber of rifle. I've loaded them in 3- 300 WIN MAGs,2- 25-06's, 270 Win., 358 STA, 7MM Rem Mag and a 243 Win.
Submitted by: Jim Davidson from Alberta
Date: 1/19/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I am a hand loader for more than 45 years. I have had some disappointing experiences with Nosler Partions.Most of my hunting is whitetails. Most of my hunting is with 270 Win. The first experience was a broad side running head shot using 150 gr Nosler Partions,The big doe went down instantly.We could not find the bullet holes! Sometime later a tiny drop of blood was spott behind the ear.The bullet went right through and did not expand.The second experiece was a broadside 60 yd. shoulder shoot on a large buck.He went down instantly nose to the grond.The bullet went only half way through and the entire front core was missing. Very poor penitration. The best Nosler bullet I have used for white tail is 130 gr solid base. This bullet works well but at times there is some core slippage. I now use 130gr. Hornady SST and Interbonds excellent bullets. 56gr. IMR 4831
Submitted by: Dunc
Date: 10/4/2006
Rifle used: Bruno Deluxe
Caliber: 270 Win
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 4
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I used to use this bullet exclusively in my .338 (250g) but the tips always got mashed in my Tikka clip. I was very concerned over any loss of accuracy so I was forced to go shopping for a fix. I have since been converted by Barnes TSX. They are far more accurate in my gun with much easier load work -up. Their weight retention is far superior and the fouling in the TSX is less than the partitions. Please don't get me wrong I still respect the partition and would say they are an above avg. bullet but for me ... why shoot above avg. bullets when you can shot the best.
Submitted by: TK
Date: 10/2/2006
Rifle used: Tikka
Caliber: .338
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 4
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Recently used a 150gr. Nosler in .270WSM, Winchester Super Shadow, on a 5 point elk and small black bear. We were moving along a logging road in pursuit of a small herd of elk when we spotted this bull elk walking along the edge of the timber. He was feeding as he strolled along at 3pm. The terrain was very steep. He disappeared briefly in hollow and when he came up the wind was taking our scent to him. He turned broadside and I sent the 150gr Nosler directly into the crease of his shoulder at about 75 yards. The bullet completely passed through and he dove into a steep drainage less than fifty yards from where he was shot. The bullet took out both lungs, which were mush and the chest cavity was full of blood. Saved the ribs for a church barbeque the following Sunday. Shot the black bear at about 40-50yds uphill, square in the chest on the breast bone. The bullet opened up a good hole and as the bear took off I sent another one into it as it ran alongside the hill. I didn't know at the time the first one was fatal. Excellant performance. The bear had very tender meat.
Submitted by: L Sayers, Alberta
Date: 9/29/2006
Rifle used: Winchester Super Shadow
Caliber: .270WSM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Have read numbers of comments recently by so-called "experts" who have opined that the nosler partition is at the bottom of the pack when it comes to premium bullet perfomance. I have used nosler partitions in the following calibers: .338 Win mag; .270 Weatherby; 6.5x55 Swedish mauser (my all time favorite caliber) and the .300 Weatherby. I have never experienced any failure in any game shot with partitions, which I pretty much use exclusively. My .338 and 6.5 are Sako's, the others are Weatherby Mark 5's. Accuracy has always been superb. I have taken 5 whitetails and 1 pronghorn antelope with the 6.5, they have all dropped in their tracks. Took a 6x6 Elk in New Mexico with the.338 at about 360 yards; recovered the 225 partition under the skin of the off side shoulder. Bull moose with the same bullet, shot him twice at 175 yards, same experience. Shot a bison with the .300 Weatherby, 1 shot-didn't recover bullet. Short of it, it's always worked for me and really like the accuracy. Next year Africa with .338 and .416 Remington. Anyone who has used 400 grain partition on buffalo, would like to hear their experience.
Submitted by: Glen K.
Date: 8/5/2006
Rifle used: Various
Caliber: numerous
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use Nosler partitions in all of my big game hunting rounds. The 160grNP has been flawless in my .280 & 7mm Dakota w/ moa accuracy & good perf. on deer to elk. I use the 210grNP exclusively in my .338-06 & it has accounted for deer, elk & several African plainsgame including Zebra. The NP is the standard that others try to beat & is still a great performer today.
Submitted by: fred johnson
Date: 7/22/2006
Rifle used: Ruger 77 & M70
Caliber: .280, 7mmDakota & .338-06
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
When I had my 7MMSTW build I wanted a bullet that would not break up from high velocity.I tried the CT FAILSAFE could not make them shoot.Tried the 150 grain PARTITION and less than a inch at 100 yards.The lone moose I havested was semi close stresing the NOSLER hard.The moose fell right away with no need to shoot again.Since the moose was close and the high velocity round their was lots of meat damage with a shot behind the shoulder. BUT THE NOSLER SLUG DID IT'S JOB.
Submitted by: MIKE
Date: 9/20/2005
Rifle used: CUSTOM SAKO
Caliber: 7MM STW
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have been using Nosler Partition bullets for more than 40 years now, and I cannot say enough good things about them. From smallish blacktail deer to monster moose, elk and bears, they are the "real" thing. Never lost an animal shot with a Partition, even when the chambering used was on the light side. The later design Noslers tend to be very accurate also, with many of my rifles turning in groups under 1" at 100 meters.
Submitted by: Eagleye
Date: 9/13/2005
Rifle used: M700, M70, M77, etc.
Caliber: 6mm through 375 H&H
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
This a decent bullet for hunting the USA, but I believe it is too heavily constructed for most big-game. I've seen many elk walk/run away from being shot in the chest. They can be hard to find in heavy timber or lost all together. A bullet must open up inside the chest cavity to do damage, otherwise animals will run extensively and be lost. Some, when hit in the chest, act like they haven't even been hit. The Nosler partition is better for the heaviest of big game animals, like monster grizzlies or African game, like elephants or cap buffalo.
Submitted by: Western Hunter
Date: 9/4/2005
Rifle used: Bolt action
Caliber: 30-06
Hunting performance: 3 Accuracy performance: 3
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Excellent penetration and accuracy. Ample wound chanels. Always use Noslers when big game is on the line.
Submitted by: Bob
Date: 8/19/2005
Rifle used: Ruger 77
Caliber: 338 win mag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have loaded a 130 grain Partition in my .270 WSM at around 3250 fps the last couple of years. Accuracy is less than 1 MOA and performance on whitetail bucks has been stellar. I was really impressed with the performance of this bullet on a lung shot buck this past season. At the shot, the buck ran thirty yards and fell. Upon examining the sight the buck was standing, I found a piece of lung tissue the size of a fist. Other deer dropped at the shot.
Submitted by: Tommy Norton
Date: 7/24/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Have taken 24 Elk to date with 7mm Mag 160 Grain Partition bullet pushed by H870 in temperature from +80 degree to -30 below with Fed 215 primer or CCI-Mags As far as deer go 140 Nosler Partitions 3150 FPS do the trick.....These bullets are provern performers. Finally get a crack at Moose this Fall,will be using 200 Grain Partitions in my 8MM Mag,which of course is going to fill the freezer........
Submitted by: Richard,wyoming
Date: 5/17/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
my friend used the nosler partition in a 223 with a 60 grain bullet to drop 3 elk. excellent exspansion and good retained wieght.
Submitted by: Tom
Date: 5/4/2005
Rifle used: H and R ULTRA
Caliber: .223 remington
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 4
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
200gr in .300 win put a softball size hole in the boiler of a 350lb mulie buck at 60yds, smashing him into a tree dead as could be! no exit wound or bullet recovered, just one dead monster buck!
Submitted by: cody cash
Date: 3/29/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I just can't say enough good things about this bullet it seems to shoot well in every thing I own not to mention alot of friends rifles as well. From the 280,300Win,338Win,338Lapua,375H&H they all shoot the partion well at the range & do even better in the field.If shooting bear moose deer or caribuo they all get pounded hard by this bullet.I've seen alot of hunters use all sorts of calibers but one thing is for sure most of them use partitions when going on a guided hunt. Why because they know how well the bullet works.
Submitted by: Fishbear
Date: 3/28/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Took a @163 B&C whitetail at about 160yds. One shot that I hit low on the brisket but it diverted up and went thru the opposite shoulder. The deer ran about 35yds. He was a good size buck in full rut. Estimated body weight was close to 275lbs maybe more. Never found the bullet, a 140gr handloaded to my .270 WSM.
Submitted by: L Sayers, Alberta
Date: 12/9/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot the 125 grain in my 6.5x55 winchester 70 featherweight and it is the best bullet I have used.some people have complained that they are not accurate,this is bunk.My rifle shoots under 1MOA with this bullet and I have yet to clean the barrel after about 500 rounds!.As far as killing power and penetration lets just sy the partiton was the first and the best bonded bullet
Submitted by: country bumpkin
Date: 11/23/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Good bullets. However it seems that they produce a lot of blood shot. My sister shot a young moose with a 180gr partition using Federal's High Energy last week. 60-80 yd shot thru the ribs. Bullet went in and came to rest on the offside. The ribs had a lot of blood shot and could not be salvaged for the barbeque. This seems to be consistent with a lot of the partitions. I shot a 6X7 elk last year with my .270WSM in 140gr handload. One shot quartering away at 80yds. Same thing, couldn't salvage the ribs.
Submitted by: L Sayers Canada
Date: 10/13/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I killed an 5X4 elk last season and the bullet was not recoverd it expanded just the way it should have because it was at 250 yards it penitraded the shoulder and left at the top of the other one. .257 roberts 120 grain
Submitted by: clm
Date: 5/4/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot a 338 mag at open range mule deer, the 210 partition drops them in their tracks. Other 338 bullets dont expand on deer and just poke a hole in them and they walk away and die some where
Submitted by: kile
Date: 2/5/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
undoubtably the best hunting bullet i have ever loaded. this bullet brings the punch and delivers plenty O shock. clean exits with plenty of bone crushing force, delivering loads of shock and accurate to boot now that is a hunting bullet.
Submitted by: big e
Date: 1/3/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Best bullet made! From a .243 on Texas Whitetails, .264 Win Mag with 140 gr. on Rams, Warthogs,Kudu,Red Stag. 30-06 with 180gr. On Red Stag, Warthog, Zebra, Blue and Black Wildebeest,Gemsbok and all sorts of African game as well as British Columbia Elk. Kills with one shot.The game doesn't go far if it doesn't drop in its' tracks. Expands in the animal and most of the time exits.
Submitted by: Matthew N.
Date: 12/23/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot this bullet from my .338-06 @ 2700fps+. I have only recovered (1) bullet from any of the big game animals. This bullet was recovered from a bull Kudu shot in the left, front chest & the bullet was recovered from the right rear of the rib cage, just under the skin. Distance was about 120yds. the recovered bullet weighs 168gr. This bullet has always exited on broadside shots, even on Elk & the Zebra I have taken.
Submitted by: fred johnson
Date: 11/6/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
85 gr.Nosler Partition out of my 6mm ackley improved with a 24 inch barrel at reasonable velosity,it is very effective on white tail deer.
Submitted by: bill
Date: 11/6/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Used the 210 gr. Nosler .338 bullet in a .340 Weatherby. Upon recovery of spent bullet (from a soft bank 10 yds. beyond bull elk), it weighed 185 gr.,that's 88% retention! No bad.
Submitted by: Jim Krigbaum
Date: 8/1/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy