Quantcast
 
      
 
Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Register
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the hornady SST bullet.
 
I've tested in .2 gr increments for hornady SST 150 gr, 140gr, and 130 gr. I've used IMR 4350, H4350, H4831 SC, RL19, RL 22. I've also used CCI and WLRM primer. The best combination I've got with .240 inch group is using 63.3 gr H4831SC, Hornady SST 140gr, WLRM primer, COL 2.790 inch. I shoot a Browning M1000 eclipse Stainless Steel BOSS setting 20.
Submitted by: Ferris
Date: 8/9/2014
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
antelope hunt 2012. 100 yrd shot and it was bang flop ! Did not find bullet but alot of lung pieces in grass .
Submitted by: 270win
Date: 8/19/2013
Rifle used: rem 700 custom
Caliber: 270
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot the 165gr sst out of my 30-338 and am more than satisfied. I get .50 moa groops at 100 yds. At 400 yds I can keep a 1/2 inch steel plate turkey sihloete dancing from one shot to the next. I load 165 gr SST 72.5 Gr IMR 4350 @ approx. 3250 fps.
Submitted by: YOOPER
Date: 11/10/2012
Rifle used: Custom built on Springfield 1903 action
Caliber: 30-338
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I recently started reloading and was not sure what to expect with this bullet. I loaded Hornady SST 165 gr. in .30-06 cal. I used 58 gr of Alliance Reloder 22 powder. I was very impressed with the results. At 100 yards I shot quarter size groups with this load. I have never been able to keep groups under silver dollar size with any factory load I have used. I am now awaiting to see the results in practical use when hunting whitetail deer this fall. I would highly recommend this bullet to anyone who wants superior results.
Submitted by: R. Brandt
Date: 7/3/2012
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Hornady IMO makes the best traditional bullet bar none. 32 yrs ago I tried speers 200 grain 30 caliber bullet on a muley hunt at a confermed 510 yrds The speer shattered so badly it didn't even penatrate all the way through. I switched to hornady and I have shot game from 250 lbs up to over 1000 lbs ALL 1 shot kills. They have the tightest tolerances 7/10ths of an inch at 200 yrds I have shot them in my Long range rifles up to 1200 yrds with outstanding accuracy and preformance. Second choice is sierra. For kodiak bears noslers
Submitted by: Sandy Daniels
Date: 5/15/2012
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have found this bullet extremely capable of killing medium to large African game. With this bullet I shot Springbuck, Impala, Koedoe; Oryx and Eland. The Eland being a 750kg Bull. The only buck without an exit wound was on the Eland. I can forgive the bullet for this as it entered through one of the ribs.It made a +/-9mm diameter hole and then broke up to destroy the lungs. Some fragments also entered the heart. I guess it would be better to use a solid next time I shoot Eland. The main reason being to ensure that the animal does not suffer due to a fragmented bullet not doing its work.
Submitted by: Peter from South Africa
Date: 4/30/2012
Rifle used: BRNO
Caliber: 7x64
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I reload all of my rifles with the Hornady SST bullet. When you shoot a deer or any other game they fall on the spot. Try the SST and you will agree.
Submitted by: R.G.M.
Date: 12/22/2011
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
After reading the review about the sst not having a interlock I have to add my 2 cents worth I have been loading these bullets for many years and notice that when I butcher a deer or hog I sometimes find the bullet jacket in the animal. peeled back like a banana peel with no lead to been seen anywhere,the core always seems to exit completely. The bullet is not locked together. Even so I wont hunt with anything else because it flies so flat and deer dont know what hit them.
Submitted by: F.J.
Date: 10/6/2011
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I recently used a file to half section a SST 150 grain .270 bullet to find no interlock ring. A score mark is all I found. Contacting Hornady they were very gracious, payed to have the box of bullets shipped back, and sent me a box of SP. I also filed open a SP to find a decent ring and a .311 to find a very pronounced ring. Beware of SST's, they may fly great but the jacket thickness is the same from tip to base which to me isn't right for controlled expansion and the missing interlock would prevent lcoking the core. BTW Hornady said the alloy is the same all through the bullet cup.
Submitted by: Ralph From Jersey
Date: 7/27/2011
Rifle used:
Caliber: .270 winchester
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
In researching bullet construction, I use a file to peek inside the bullet. My observation showed that the SST's for the .270, had no interlock ring, but just a score mark. Later I filed open a .311 150 grain SP. This bullet showed a very pronounced interlock ring. So I called Hornady and told them my story. They told me to send back the bullets and they would examine the situation. Today I was told they are sending me SP's in stead. At the range, I'm shooting 1" or better at 100 yards. Load is 60 grains of H4831, winchester brass, CCI200 primers, 130 grain SP. Last deer season I used 130 grain with my .270. I shot up a ridge about 300 yards. The bullet entered via the boiler room and exited it's spine. I was a little disappointed about the back strap but I'm a roast man myself. The deer darted to the left and disappered. After I got to the spot the deer was about 5 yards from where I shot it. The back strap had a 4-5 inch exit hole... decent wound cahnnel with pleanty of blood shot damage. I was impressed. Great job Hornady!!
Submitted by: Ralph From Jersey
Date: 7/26/2011
Rifle used: Savage 111
Caliber: .270 winchester
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I spent a lot of time with the 165 SST. I modified some of the loads found on this website and found a killer recipe for .300wsm= 68 grains of RL-19, WLR primer, winchester casings. RL-19 burns real dirty, but had steady rounds goin 2800+ I had an experiment with 4350 and went real bad, 67 grains bucked me at 3,300 fps and had to get a hammer to kick the bolt back, I dumped the rest out. When taken to the field I dropped a 4x4 muley at 319 yards with one shot. It some how took out half of both lungs and nicked the heart. It jumped and rolled 50 yards down the canyon. Exit wound was not very big though, only about as big as a penny. I am guessing it just did a tornado effect as it did a full pass through. Love these bullets, SST is all I shoot through all my rifles!
Submitted by: Ben Carleton
Date: 3/23/2011
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
one shot wonders killed so many deer with these that they did not run at all the longest was maybe 10 feet this round sucked the heart out the other side of the deer or turn the hearts to jelly the longest shot was a six pointer that was standing 180 yards shortest shot was under 20 yards had to line up the barrel for that shot all shot were taken from new england 308 survival rifle i did have it changed out to the better barrel for better accuracy before the remington people took over the company
Submitted by: long shot
Date: 6/19/2010
Rifle used: new england
Caliber: 308 win
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Used SST on top of my Pet load of 52gr IMR4064 in my 30-06. Shot a buck at about 75yds, the guy that proccessed my deer couldn't believe that I shot it with "just a 30-06" Awesome bullet
Submitted by: Keith
Date: 8/25/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Killed largest deer of my life with these. Large 8 point. had huge white brow tines that hooked forward, looked wicked! One shot kill at 60 yards.
Submitted by: Jackchuck
Date: 7/26/2009
Rifle used: savage 111
Caliber: 270
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I do not get sold on Bullet ads, Personal performance is a better salesman. I hunt mostly White Tail deer, & do a lot of shooting at paper. I find a quality bullet that shoots well in each gun. I have found these to shoot well in most guns they are tried in. For the 257 Rob, I find the 117 gr hard to beat. In the past 2 years many Deer have found them to be deadly. Only 2 moved more than 2 steps. Also shoot them in a 30/06 and found them to shoot very well on paper.
Submitted by: John aka JGShooter
Date: 2/16/2009
Rifle used: Custom Mauser
Caliber: 257 Rob Imp
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
This has been my mainstay bullet, for paper or light bodied big game. Wyoming antelope, whether 100 yards or 400 yards go down in their shaddow. Bullets do a complete pass through, don't know any tasty bullet receipes anyway. At 4oo yards there was no expansion, maybe due to entry behind the ribs and exiting behind the opposite shoulder between ribs. At 100 yards and impact on an antelop rib, left a tennis ball size exit wound. It commonly shoots 1-1/4" or better at 100 yards. Winchester brass, 215 primers, 66.0 grains of IMR 4350. COL = 2.880".
Submitted by: Dave
Date: 6/24/2008
Rifle used: Vanguard SS
Caliber: 300WSM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I regularly use these bullets, for example a 140gn in my 6.5x57 at 2700 vt/sec(for Springbok hunting) and 165gn in my 308 Norma Magnum at 3121vt/sec for ultra long shots, and competitions.Both these loads are very accurate, and have shot plenty game on long distances for example: Last year i shot two Kudu Cows within 30 sec with my 6.5, both on the lower necks just in front of the chests, at 177m and 207m ranged with a range finder from the annimals back to the vehicle from where i shot.
Submitted by: Willie Olivier
Date: 9/3/2007
Rifle used: Mauser+Norma
Caliber: 6.5x57+308 Norma Mag
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
My tikka 7mm rem mag groups 5 162 gr sst's in to 1/2".amazing accuracy. now, i don't know how tuff american whitetails are but in saskatchewan they are very tuff. i shot 2 bucks weighing about 250lbs.they both died,however i did not like what the bullet did.both deer were at about 200 yds and the bullets did major damage but fragmented and did not exit.(rib cage shots) tried the 154 interbond and it really performs better on deer. exits about like a baseball....perfect performance. allthough the 162 sst was very accurate and did kill the deer, i really do like to see a bullet stay in one piece on rib cage shots on whitetail.
Submitted by: steve
Date: 5/5/2007
Rifle used: Tikka
Caliber: 7mm rem mag
Hunting performance: 3 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
129 SST 6.5 Caliber from a 260 Rem outstanding performance on game and great 100 yard groups. Out standing bullet
Submitted by: JM
Date: 1/31/2007
Rifle used: Rem 700
Caliber: 260 Rem
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot a nice buck antelope in the lower neck with a 150 gr. SST at almost 300 yards. It never twitched. Lots of blood lost; massive trauma. Loaded that particular bullet over H-414. (It ran better than IMR-4350.) I have also shot some on paper using Varget and find that to be a hard-to-beat combination. Muzzle velocities in the 2850-2900 FPS range.
Submitted by: C. Sandbar
Date: 1/20/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Started reloading the 7mm WSM with the 139mm SST, shot my first deer with then, a doe, on opening day. The shot was 97 yards, she dropped in place and only her hoof wiggled. The second shot was a week after and it was a 150 pound 6 pointer at 75 yards, he ran about 15 yards and fell in a pile. Lung was blown out for 10 feet on the other side of where I shot him...SST rules
Submitted by: coastiew4bosn
Date: 11/1/2006
Rifle used: winchester md 70
Caliber: 7mm WSM
Hunting performance: 4 Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
165 grain SST bullet is a great bullet. I have killed 2 elk and several deer with them. All have dropped in there tracks. All rounds exited and did very little damage to surrounding tissue. I shoot a 30.06 loaded with 51 grains of 4320 and a LRM primer. Very accurate. I am hoping to use them on moose next fall.
Submitted by: Len M
Date: 10/17/2006
Rifle used: Remmington BDL
Caliber: 30.06
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shot a Himalayan Tahr in New Zealand South Island. @ 1600 metres with my Blaser LRS2 in 338 Lapua super Magnum.The Hornady 225g SST retained 85% of its original grain weight having gone through left leg,brisket and ending up breaking right leg,high up,but not exiting. Amazing projectile performance that is hard to beat !!!
Submitted by: Nigel
Date: 9/11/2006
Rifle used: Blaser LRS 2
Caliber: 338 lapua magnum.
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
The most accurate load for 140 grain SST from my Winchester Super Grade Model 70 and Sako Deluxe Hunter, both chambered in .270 is 56 grains of IMR4831, tried five different powders developing this load. The bullet is devastating on game, have shot whitetail and hogs, bullet is very tough for penetration, and opens for a large wound channel. Hornady makes great bullets, what can you say.
Submitted by: GMB
Date: 8/16/2006
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I'VE BEEN SHOOTING 165 gr. SST'S FOR ABOUT FIVE OR SIX YEARS IN MY 308 win. & 300 WIN MAG. I'VE SHOT DEER & HOGS OUT TO 700yds I SHOT A 297 lb. BOAR AT 683yds. (MEASURED WITH RANGE FINDER) THE BULLET WENT THROUGH BOTH SHOULDERS THE HOG HIT THE GROUND AND KICKED FOR ABOUT 2yds. NEVER KNEW WHAT HIT HIM. I DON'T THINK YOU CAN FIND A BETTER BULLET I'LL SHOOT THEM TILL THEY QUIT MAKING THEM.
Submitted by: JTARGET
Date: 1/13/2006
Rifle used: REM.700
Caliber: 300 win. mag 308 win
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I'm new to this forum. I'm going to work up a load for my Ruger M77 Mark 2; using 140 gr.SST bullets. Has anyone here done this yet. I asked a Hornady tech what bullet they felt was the most accurate .270 bullet they made..answer the above using IMR 4831.
Submitted by: BERGIE
Date: 12/31/2005
Rifle used: RUGER M77 MARK 2
Caliber: .270 WIN.
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I loaned my 98 mauser to my young brother in law for his first deer hunt. this rifle shoots both the 139gr and 154gr sst very well. For his hunt I loaded the 139 gr to the minimum load. HE shot his first mule deer.(a mature doe) @ 40 yds.I was not with him and his dad so I don't have the particulars on shot placement. However, I was told,"the deer just dropped(no surprise) ...there was a lot of blood shot.
Submitted by: ajgivens1@juno.com
Date: 12/12/2005
Rifle used: 98 mauser
Caliber: 7x57
Hunting performance: 4 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I used the 154 gr sst in a custom 7x57 mauser. Using IMR 4350 @ moderate velocity I get very good accuracy.(sub-moa)The only Elk I shot with that load travelled 20 yds or less.I only recovered a small portion of the bullet, but the bullet travelled OVer 30 in.It entered just behind the last rib and travelled forward,tumbling and exiting the chest into the shoulder on the same side. the distance was 80 yds.minimal meat damage.
Submitted by: ajgivens@juno.com
Date: 12/12/2005
Rifle used: 98 mauser
Caliber: 7x57
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Excellent bullet. The first deer was under 75 yds, and it looked liked someone picked it up and threw it. Big hole on other side, did not ruin much of the front shoulder. Second deer, 100 yds running, high just rear of the front shoulder, 10 steps if that and it was down. Third one 600 yds ran 10 yds and that was it. Love this bullet for anything over a 100 yds, under 100 yds lots of damage, but definitely dead deer.
Submitted by: S.J in ND
Date: 11/22/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Loaded 140 gr sst for a new Win M70 270WSM 61 grains Reloader 19. Great on the range 4 shot group .75 inch @ 100 yards. Can't wait to try out in the deer woods.
Submitted by: ljh
Date: 11/12/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use the 165 gr Hornady SST in my .308. Earlier this summer, I shot a 300+ lb boar with one round from about 125 yds. It walked about 10 yds before it dropped dead. The round went in front of the shoulder, into the lungs, and through the stomach. I did not recover the bullet but I did find the plastic tip at the entry wound. The bullet is extremely accurate and I've killed coyotes with it at 350 yds.
Submitted by: D.D. in CA
Date: 10/29/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use the 150gr SST in both of my 3006's I have the best group near max load with the Husky and around 2800 in the Enfield. These are both nasty under 300yrds, I have not had to track one in 2 years. The 150lb doe the wife shot dropped like it was hit by a giant hammer. I am quite impressed with the SST and am going to try the 150 Interbond in my 300 Win Mag. Have a good hunt all!
Submitted by: B. Hannah Saskatchewan, Canada
Date: 6/6/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have read many great comments about the Hornady SST bullets so I had to try them out. I cooked up a load using the 165 grain SST's with Winchester brass, 44.0 grains of Varget, CCI 200 primers, and an overall cartridge length of 2.800 inches. They come out at 2700 fps from my Remington 700 VS in .308 Winchester. I took some nice caribou bulls at 350 yards and the SST's performed real well. All of the shots were complete pass throughs. The first bull dropped in his tracks with a hit to the base of the neck. The second bull was hit in the right shoulder, and the other hit was about three inches behind the first hit. I probably didn't need to hit him the second time. All of the exit holes were approximately 3 inches in diameter. I also shot a real nice 8 point whitetail the same year. He was about 70 yards away when I hit him and he dropped so hard he bounced off the ground. He was hit in the right shoulder which shattered it and broke two ribs on the entry side. There was nothing left of the lungs and the opposite shoulder was also out of commission with three ribs broken on that side.The bullet did not pass through, and it held together real well. I know all my groups were well under 1 MOA at 100 yards and I had a real nice group at 450 yards that was approximately 4 inches! These bullets perform real well and are nicely priced. Give em' a try!-NJK
Submitted by: NJK
Date: 3/24/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
300 WSM 165g SST @ 3100 fps on Whitetails does an awesome job. ...just don't hit a shoulder or it will destroy it comepletely. 7 does shot from 20 to 301 yds, none knew what hit them and damage was devastating. Make sure you aim back a bit more than usual. Very accurate bullets.
Submitted by: Sarge
Date: 2/24/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I used the 130 grain in .270 for kansas whitetail. 150 yrd buck facing me,the bullet entered hit front shoulder knuckle shattering it continued to break three ribs enter chest, destroy lungs. no exit he jumped three times and fell. I intend to start loading these from now on!!
Submitted by: M. Coffman
Date: 1/23/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I used this bullet (130 grs) with 59gr of H4831sc on mule deer in Colorado this past fall I shot the deer at 301 yards. And i was very impressed at impacted of the bullet.It mushroomed out about the size of a nickel the deer took two steps and fell over it never knew what hit him.I will be using this bullet in the future.
Submitted by: JJWJR
Date: 1/12/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I used the 140 SST Light Magnum ammo in my styer scout 7mm-08 on Warthog and Impala in Africa. The Warthog was shot between the "lookers" and he dropped like hit by lightning at 70 yards. Framents traveled 6 inches through the skull. The Impala was shot at 100 yards through both shoulders and dropped. Bullet not recovered. Great performance.
Submitted by: Matthew N.
Date: 12/19/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Took a 135 lb. whitetail doe at 150 yards using a 130 grain SST in .270 Win. with 60.0 grs. H4831SC. Bullet entered right shoulder, did chest cavity damage but did not exit. Deer traveled about 75 yds. This was good performance for a shot at this angle.
Submitted by: Ralph
Date: 12/10/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Went to the rifle range last week and tried my new Hornady SST in 7 mag, 139 gr. At 100 yards could cover 3 rounds with a dime. Hunted whitetail that weekend and made a shot at 220 yards. Deer was broadside and made perfect heart shot. Heart was liquified. Went through 3 ribs with a 4 inch hole on inside body cavity. Exit wasnt much smaller. I know what ill be using in the future
Submitted by: R. E.
Date: 11/9/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
270 Winchester; Handloaded in front of 59.5 grains of H-4831sc, these bullets came apart upon hitting 4 separate whitetail deer at ranges from 50-85 yards. Max velocity and light bullets in this case performed like a varmit bullet, however all of the deer were quite dead. Long range performance was as expected. One recovered 130 SST from a 300 yard kill was a perfect mushroom with an estimated 75% weight retention.
Submitted by: R Guertin
Date: 11/2/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Im shooting the 165 gr. SST's out of my .300 Win Mag, and they are by far the most accurate bullet Ive shot out of it. I have posted several 1.5" 3 shot groups at 200 yards, and some sub 2" 3 shot groups at 300 yars with them... Will see how they perform on game in the up coming weeks.
Submitted by: fireman
Date: 10/17/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot 180 grain sst out of my Sako chambered in .300 Weatherby. The muzzle velocity is 3280 avg. I shot a buck last fall just over 100yds. It was hit at the base of the neck in front of the shoulder. The exit hole was at least 4-5 inches. The bullet totally fragmented, I found small pieces through out the neck and front shoulder. There was a extreme amount of damage to the area at 10 inches from the path of the bullet. All though the buck dropped in his tracks, I had hoped the bullet would have held together better. The accuracy of the sst was supperb. Hopefully the new sst interbond will hold together better. Hornady claims it is much tougher.
Submitted by: Jeff R.
Date: 9/24/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
My son shot his first deer last November using the new 95 grain SST bullet in his .243 Winchester. After several practice sessions on the target range, this polymer tipped slug proved just as accurate as the nosler ballistic tip at half the price. The deer was broadside at 125 yards, the bullet hit the knuckle of the shoulder bone, travelled below the spine, and exited behind the opposite shoulder. The exit wound was the size of a dime and dropped the deer in it's tracks....great bullet performance.
Submitted by: G.W. Lamb
Date: 7/17/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used the 130 grain SST in my 270 WSM. Very accurate - great groups. We'll see this fall how they perform on Mule Deer.
Submitted by: JTanner
Date: 20.05.2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have tried the SST in a 280 (139 gr), a 7Mag (154 gr) and a 264Mag (140 gr). Accuracy has been outstanding and terminal performance on hogs and deer have been great. Good expansion with deep penetration, even whenb bones were hit. IMO this is a excellent bullet.
Submitted by: jjh
Date: 19.05.2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
The 140g sst is the most accurate bullet I have loaded for my 270 win. It is also my favorit bullet for deer. Mushrooms very well but holds together enough for deep penatration.
Submitted by: H. Peters
Date: 24.04.2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy