Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Hornady SPBT bullet.
 
I use the 175gr Bullet in my 7x64 for Moose / Elk & Deer since 20 Years. Always aim for Head Or Neck. recovered Bullets are usually in the 50-60% range. I also use the 165gr in my 30/06 Mauser. none of the Animals ever got away and they usually drop on impact.Very happy with the performance.
Submitted by: Bernie P
Date: 9/28/2011
Rifle used: Voehre Titan
Caliber: 7x64
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shooting a 150gr hornady spbt in a 300 win mag, getting half inch groups at 100yds and less than an inch at 200yds, load is 76grs (no pressure signs) of Hodgdon 4350 running 3325fps. Can't wait to shoot a deer with this one.
Submitted by: kevin
Date: 8/29/2009
Rifle used: ruger m77
Caliber: 300 win mag
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Hornady Light Mag in 180gr Hornady Boat Tail Spire Point. I just bought a CZ 550 American in 30.06, had it glass bedded and went out to the range to break it in. I had a box of the above factory ammo and couldn't believe the groups I was getting! Three shot groups were coming in at .998" and .433" MOA and there was less than ten shots out of the gun. If Hornady claim of this load coming out the 24" barrel at 2900 fps then I can't even hand load to that velocity.
Submitted by: L. Sayers, Alberta
Date: 5/6/2006
Rifle used: BRNO- CZ 550 American
Caliber: 30.06
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
have used the 165gr in 30-30 bolt gun for big mulies and never had one move an inch after the hit, the 190's at 3100 in my .300 win kill anything in the world instantly, and shoot under an inch at 200 yds! I took the scull cap off of a doe at 325 yds! The 180's in an '06 have killed huge elk and zipped throught 2 shoulders and the spinal colum at 300yds! These are the best bullet on the market for the price!!
Submitted by: cody cash
Date: 3/29/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
i shoot these in a.270 140gr. and a .284 rem- ington mag.(7mm) 162.gr for deer,elk,bear and antelope. they perform excellent.for the money the are truly good bullets.I have shot approx 30 head of game,and get a perfect mushroom w/good weight retention on bullets i have recovered. no game traveled more than 50 yards after being hit. DON COMPTON NORTH IDAHO
Submitted by: DON COMPTON
Date: 4/9/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
shot a young buck quartering toward @ 135 yds w/3006/165 light mag hornady, it went down in its tracks. the entrance hole was in near shoulder and then it exploded to three exit holes on opposite side ribs, ham, and rump, lots of meat damage.
Submitted by: stw
Date: 1/3/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shot a four point whitetail broadside with a 300 Win. Mag loaded with 180 gr Hornady SPBT on top of 74.5 gr RL22. The little guy was about 40 yards away and jumped straight up when hit. He was dead before he hit the ground as the bullet turned the heart and most of the lungs to pulp. The bullet hit a rib upon exit and was recovered from the ground just behind the buck. The lop-sided mushroom weighed in at 109 grs.
Submitted by: al3858
Date: 10/27/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Loading the 150 gr Hornady BTSP in my 300 Win. Mag. to 3350 on top of RL 22 is a very accurate round... not to mention deadly. I shot a doe, just under 100 yards and head-on, between the shoulders. No exit wound, minimal entry. She hit the ground mid-stride. The recovered bullet weighed 139 grains and was found just behind the liver.
Submitted by: al3858
Date: 10/27/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy