Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Register
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Berger VLD bullet.
 
My 12-year-old son used a 168 gr. Berger VLD fired from his .30-06 on an elk bull at approximately 100 yds. The animal dropped immediately and never took another step. The entry wound left a light blood-spot about an inch in diameter. There was no exit wound, and the heart was liquified. With an instant down on a 330 bull and almost 100% meat recovery, I will not be likely to use anything else!
Submitted by: Dan
Date: 12/30/2012
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
in reponse to murray r.coy about bullet. i load 90 gr retumbo and get 3150fps. he should learn to shoot if i hit anything in neck with this bullet they are dead-one shot. i know 50 yds is close for this much power but dont tell me a nosler would do better.
Submitted by: 4 power
Date: 12/10/2012
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
These bullets are awesome. Using the 210 grain Berger VLD out of my custom .300 Win. Mag, I have shot an elk at 602 yards, hit it in the shoulder and she was dead before she hit the ground. Also shot a deer at 883 yards with the same results. Accuracy is unbelievable and the terminal performance is excellent as well.
Submitted by: .300winmag
Date: 7/10/2012
Rifle used: Custom
Caliber: .300 Win. Mag.
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Just wanted to add I have taken several deer and one antelope with this bullet and all but one went down, like struck by lightning. The one that didn't was hit one inch inside the hair line a little low and far back, and drug itself around in a 15ft area but had expired by the time I arrived on scene, and managed to mostly field dress itself which was nice. After returning home I heard there had in fact been a magnitude 1.2 earthquake within 500 miles of my location and around the exact time I had taken the shot, explaining the poor shot placement entirely. After that I decided to never worry about needing another shot to finish the job with this bullet, though I never go into the field with just 1 bullet, I have the confidence in this one that one is all I'll need, we'll per animal. A friend of mine once shot 17 coyotes on this property in one sitting and claims to this day they were coming straight towards him, so I always take 20 rounds with me.
Submitted by: Jack
Date: 6/9/2012
Rifle used: Remington 700
Caliber: 300 RUM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Nothing better on the market. Shot a bull moose at 50 yards. 2 blood trails, massive damage. Still went 80 yards, but I've seen that happen with a 50 bmg. Could have kept shooting like some others have done, but I have complete confidence in this bullet. Try it and you'll know why. Yeah I lost some rib meat but it's what I call a humane wound channel, my dog has never complained about eating blood shot meat, and he gets more of it now that I use VLD's.
Submitted by: Jack
Date: 6/9/2012
Rifle used: Remgton 700
Caliber: 300 RUM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Used the 105gr Berger VLD in my 240 Laser (a 6mm X 280 with the shoulder moved forward .250 and changed to 40 degrees) driven to a velocity of 3,800 fps. The bullet has a very tough jacket and held together in in a 1-7 twist. The best group shot with the gun was 4 inches, yep, 4 inches at 1,000 yards that is. Fair shooting for the big rifle and the Berger pills :-) It is death on ground squirrels and other furry critters and just cuts a yote in half.
Submitted by: Ed
Date: 4/17/2012
Rifle used: Custom pre 64 Win M-70 with 30 inch Kreiger Barrel
Caliber: 240 Laser (6mm x 280+)
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
shot a bull moose with 210 gr. berger vld from a 300rum ;96grainsretumbo .distance was 50yds. facing headon ; should have used 303 british with steeljackets for same effect;comepletely passed through fulllength;followed by 1 broadside lung shot which was another .308 pinhole;followed up by a hamshot & 2 neck shots. If you think I will never load this for hunting again you are righton.I"ll go back to Nosler partitions
Submitted by: Murray r.Coy
Date: 2/6/2012
Rifle used: rem.700
Caliber: 300rum
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
email berger to see if the little 22 cal vld would be ok on antelope. The answer was yes and at 420 yards from my 22-250 ackley they were right. Only left one of the offside lobes of the lungs in tact. Everything else north of the diaphragm was destroyed. Full exit and about 14 inches of penetration. Looked like someone had slit a tiny and dropped a grenade inside.
Submitted by: monarchelk
Date: 5/14/2011
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shot a nice six point buck at 375 yards and it went straight down without a twitch.
Submitted by: Hank
Date: 12/22/2010
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shot a doe at 505 yrds and droped in her tracks!!!Exellent bullet shot another at 410 yrds same results.
Submitted by: Bruce
Date: 12/19/2010
Rifle used: Rem.700 Custom
Caliber: 6x47 Lapua
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Decided to try the vld bullet this year for my elk hunt. WOW!! Shot a spike elk at 650 yds 1 shot dropped like a rock. total devistation of the vitals, no exit hole = 100% energy transfer. If you like to track wounded animals shoot something else, if you want to drop them in their tracks shoot the berger.
Submitted by: anderj14
Date: 11/9/2010
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
ive been a sierra fan for 40yrs but i started shooting bergers in my 264 mag wow.at a m.v. of 3186 it shoots groups under a half inch at 100. 3.89 at 500 drops deer and elk like an h bomb . whats not to like .
Submitted by: mjn 57
Date: 7/10/2010
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
The universal twist for a 243 Win. cart.in most rifles is 1 in 10" That being the case you will have trouble getting a good group. the best I could do was 6 inches at 100yds. check to make sure you have at least 1 in 9"
Submitted by: Jack Murphy
Date: 6/28/2010
Rifle used: Steyer Mannlicher-L
Caliber: 243 Win
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance: 1
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
These bullets are great. They shoot and perform exactly as advertised. Shot a .657 100yard group and a 4.375 620yard group. Killed a doe at 580 yards and she only went about 15 yards if that. Massive internal damage with a golfball size exit hole. I would reccomend these bullets to anyone does not matter target or game they perform great.
Submitted by: Sniperjwt
Date: 12/27/2009
Rifle used: Weatherby Mark V
Caliber: 7mm STW
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I purchased some .308 dia Berger 210gr VLD match/hunting bullets, wanting to try them on moose. I worked up loads for my 30-06 and these bullets acted exactly as advertised. Tiny entrance wound, followed by shallow (16"), but massive wound channel that blew through everything in it's way, including heavy leg and brisket bones. These bullets are far any away the most devastating bullet I've yet tried, but there is one caveat. Any bullet not placed directly into the vitals will cause extensive meat damage. Due to the bone-smashing power of these bullets, and their massive tissue damage, I find myself also thinkig of them as top notch bear defense bullets as well.
Submitted by: Northman999
Date: 9/29/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Well I bought some with some hesitation 9 months or so ago. I had seen the video and I swear those animals are ALL spine shot. I was looking for an other option to the Nosler Ballistic tips so ... I gave them a shot. Well I watched in utter amazement as my daughter dropped a Whitetail doe dead in it's tracks. That thing was shot behind the leading shoulder and exitted out the far shoulder. There was a laser sharp hole in approx. 3 inches but what followed was utter devestation. That doe didn't kick / thrash or anything. I surgically examined that animal and I can clearly verify there was no spine involment or impact fractures to the spine. The bullet did "Totally" destroy the far shoulder/front leg. There was no less than 6 fractures of the combined upper and lower leg. SOOOO ... if you want a bullet that will kill immediately with devestation then this is your bullet. If you want to eat up to the bullet hole go buy Barnes TSX's.
Submitted by: TK
Date: 4/27/2009
Rifle used: Stevens
Caliber: 7MM-08
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Rem 700 Sendero 300 WM Best of Best :o)))
Submitted by: vhool
Date: 5/19/2007
Rifle used: Rem 700
Caliber: 300 WM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've used Begers ranging from .22 cal up to .30 210 VLDs. Honestly they all shoot superb. These bullets are second-to-none, and do not require meplat uniforming like Sierras. The only thing better is Lost River Ballistic bullets. Unfortunately they require insanely fast twist barrels, and cost a dollar each just for the bullet.
Submitted by: Dusty
Date: 4/17/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use the 75 grain Berger VLD's in a G.A. Precision built .223 with a 1/8 twist barrel. So far, I have shot the Bergers to 600 yards with great accuracy. The best 5 shot group to date is 3.51" This was in conditions that were not favorable to say the least.
Submitted by: C. Walley
Date: 9/25/2006
Rifle used: G.A. Precision M700
Caliber: .223 Remington
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot these 210 grs bullets out to 1150 yards on a 14" steel gong. They are very accurate. Shoot them at 3000fps with a BC of .640 and be amazed. Ripped 2 coyotes a new hole the size of pie plates.
Submitted by: remman2506
Date: 1/29/2006
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot 115 VLD's out of a stock Remington "Sendero" 25-06 at 300, 500 & 600 yards. With a BC of 522 they perform excellent with my load. This is a great long range "match bullet" that will not let you down.
Submitted by: Bill Turner
Date: 19.06.2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy