Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Barnes XBT bullet.
 
Barnes are the most dissappointing bullets on the market. I have visited the factory and bought every bullet they make for all my rifles due to their sells pitchs. NOT ONE of them has worked out. I have changed powders, primers, bullet lengths, etc. and have never been able to make these bullets shoot better than double MOA. I lost three deer and two elk because of these bullets. I have switched to Hornady and Nosler bullets and have never lost an animal since. Barnes does do a good job selling their product though. I spent a lot of time and money on them. I have several rifles that I have tried to make work the 204, 243, 243wssm, 7mm, 30-06, 300wsm, 300wm, & 45-70 in all different brands (Browning, Remington, Weatherby, Marlin, Winchester)
Submitted by: Nate
Date: 6/29/2009
Rifle used: browning
Caliber: 243
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 1
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have been using X bullets since they came out. In .300 weatherby, 30-06, and .416 rem mag. I load 89 gr of Norma MRP with 140 gr. x boattails and they are both devastating and accurate. A 180 & 172 boone & crockett whitetail, numerous elk, mulies, moose and anything else i point my Sako TRG at are proof enough for me that these bullets work.
Submitted by: dhen
Date: 11/12/2007
Rifle used: Sako TRG
Caliber: .300 Weatherby
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Loaded 90 grain bullet in .243, Remington brass, 44.5 grains of Reloder 19. Velocity is approximately 3200fps depending on the rifle. On the bench it shoots 3/4" at 100 yards out of my Ruger Frontier Rifle, 16.5" barrel and 2.75x foward mounted scope. This past winter I shot three whitetail in one day, all one shot kills. First was a spike about 85 yards uphill through really thick brush, hit high in the shoulder. He dropped instantly. Second was a large doe and her medium sized daughter. They came out of a field into the woods about 40 yards. Shot the mother first, and even though my shot placement was way too far back she ran about 25 feet and went down. Her offspring became confused and after a minute of mouth calling to her I shot her in the exact same spot as her mother. She went straight down. So far eveything I have shot with this bullet has been a one shot kill with very little damage to the meat. Normally the .243 would not be my weapon of choice on deer sized game, but ever since that hunt it is the first gun I grab because I know that if i do my job the Barnes will do its job. Barnes bullets have turned the .243 back into a light, low recoil, accurate deer rifle that I would not hesitate to take on any hunt.
Submitted by: Father Sandman
Date: 3/2/2006
Rifle used: Ruger Frontier Rifle, 16.5" barrel
Caliber: .243
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used this bullet on White tail, Mule deer and elk and have had excellet one shot kills. Every animal I have shot with this round has droped right on the spot.
Submitted by: George
Date: 10/14/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I agree with a number of the reviews. The bullets are best used on game, probably on another continent. They penetrate to much, if a bullet leaves a .277 hole in and a .300 hole out, not all of the energy the bullet has to give stayed in the animal. I've seen several mule deer and Elk hit in vital spots, Spots I consider the best, just walk away without even giving a hint they've been hit. I gone back to Sierra, accurate, hard hitting.
Submitted by: M. Hale
Date: 5/29/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
this bullet does not open up well on mule deer and elk, unless bone is hit. Many times i have seen this bullet pass through heavy meat and only make a small hole. it is like stabbing game with a pencile. if bone is hit it will crush and penatrate the vitals. i like a bullet that will deliver shock, and this bullet does not do this well unless bone is hit.
Submitted by: big e
Date: 1/3/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Excellent penetration in .280 Rem. No recovery of bullets in deer yet due to complete penetration. First deer quartering forward with entry behing front shoulder and exit in front of back hip. Second deer shot to far back on first running shot and second shot entry on front of chest with exit behind opposite shoulder.
Submitted by: rdriedge@winnipeg.ca
Date: 10/29/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Be careful in application of this bullet. For less than monster sized whitetails, this bullet does not provide enough hydro-shock and too much penetration and retained weight, regardless of the caliber. This bullet, in my opinion, is much better suited for tougher game.
Submitted by: KRM
Date: 16.05.2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Using the 90 Gr XBT in my Ruger 77V I have been unable to get consistent accuracy better than 1.5 MOA at any velocity. Most 5 shot groups will go into 1.5 to 2.0 inches. They may be larger if the barrell was not well cleaned after using conventional bullets
Submitted by: bob@texas.net
Date: 11.04.2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
In 6mm, 30 and 338 calibers, this is the best hunting bullet I have ever used. It is hard to compete with the Swift bullets, but I have a feeling that this bullet gives a better killing power, or effect with a good hit. There is only two problems I have found with these bullets; they give a lot of fouling and it is hard to get good accuracy with them.
Submitted by: Morten S
Date: 23.02.2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy