Quantcast
 
      
 
Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Register
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Barnes X bullet.
 
From Africa Hi all ye salties there in some other continent. I have hunted in Africa(my home) with Barnes X bullets for 8 years now, ranging in calibres from 243 to 416, and taken more than 500 head of game in that period, and have yet to come accross a better hunting bullet. Seccond in Accuracy only to Sierra and Frontier Bullets(made in SA, much like Barnes) so far. I have only twice had bullets not expanding for some reason, but compared to failures I have had from, PMP, Sierra, Hornady and Nosler, I would rather have a solid that penetrates once in a while than another fragmenting when it hits a bit of Bone. We African farmers also use all our meat and Barnes X saves a lot of bruising. I don't suppose its fair for someone to judge these bullets on one game animal only...
Submitted by: PietSkiet
Date: 7/29/2012
Rifle used: Winchester Mod 70
Caliber: 375 Ackley Improved
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I like the original barnes X bullet. it was accurate and terminal on game. i doo tire of Barnes continually changing the shape. i really dislike the triple shocks as the length is just to difficult to acconidate in my rifles. All bullets from the manufacturs work well if used within the velocity they were developed for.any bullet that strikes a bone dead center is a toss up to how it will perform. As reloaders we always seem to push our bullets beyond the velocty for which they were developed.
Submitted by: D Hulihan
Date: 1/14/2011
Rifle used: rem/win
Caliber: 243 270 7mag 7-08
Hunting performance: 4 Accuracy performance: 4
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use the Barnes TSX, TTSX & MRX in various calibers. Heard some complaints about lack of expansion in deer sized animals. The Barnes copper/copper + alloy bullets work best if you drop down a weight class or two from what you'd normally use with conventional bullets. I use 165 grain X bullets for moose where I used to use a 180 grain conventional bullet. I use 130 or 150 grain X bullets for deer where I used to use 165 grain conventional bullets. Keep the velocities up & you won't have any trouble with expansion & drop like a bag of hammers kills. Barnes X bullets do not fragment like conventional bullets & the plastic tips on the TTSX & MRX help maximize ballistic coefficients in lighter bullet weights to keep downrange velocities high. Downloading X bullets is NOT a good idea because as I've said before the higher the velocity the better the performance.
Submitted by: pricedo
Date: 11/2/2010
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
They went one better, there is currently an 80gr tipped TSX for .257, should be awesome in your gun. Good luck.
Submitted by: X- Shooter
Date: 8/7/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Thanks for the advice x shooteer. i tried the new triple shocks in the 100 grain and they shot extremely well.Hope to try the mrx,x soon.Ijust wish barnes would bring the 85 grain back in a tsx.It would be awsome in a 250 savage or the robers.
Submitted by: southren alberta hunter
Date: 5/12/2009
Rifle used: ruger
Caliber: 257 roberts
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
To Southern Alberta Hunter, The key words in your review are "old" X-Bullets. The 85gr X has been discontinued for 3-4 years. The technology behind the X bullet has come a long way since then. Copper composition, cavity design, tipped bullet offerings, etc. I understand that on game performance speaks to the hunter, but to damn the X bullets when u you used old product isn't fair to the product. I have used X bullets since 1991 starting with a 280 Rem with cartridges from 7-300 Wby to .375 Wby, currently a 338 RUM. Accuracy and results on deer and elk have been nothing short of impressive. Sorry your experience wasn't better, but try new 80 or 100gr Tipped TSX. I just built a .257 ACK w/ Pacnor Polygonal barrel, under 3/4" groups in first 100 rounds. Deer drop in tracks.
Submitted by: X- Shooter
Date: 3/8/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Loaded some old 85 grain X bullets for my 257 roberts.After playing with a few loads i found one that gave me the degree of accuracy that i was looking for.A few days ago i was out settling the crosshairs on the chest of a big mulie,the shot was about 80 yards the buck flinched as the firts bullet passed through his chest and hit the dirt about 20 yards behind him the second shot at about 110 yards did the same thing the buck finally lied downed a died about 140 yards from the intial shot.upon gutting and skinning the deer i notice both shots had little more than "penciled" through the vitals with little or no expansion to say i wass pissed off the with what happened was an understatment.Maybe these bullets belong with Derrick and the boys in africa cause i wont use them or any b product from barnes again.
Submitted by: southren alberta hunter
Date: 11/30/2008
Rifle used: Ruger 77
Caliber: 257 roberts
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 4
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
To derrick in S. Africa. Lead is denser than copper, therefore, an X bullet is longer weight for weight than a lead core. A 180gr 30 cal X is at least as long a 200gr lead core. This fact in some cases will limit case capacity if you shoot an X bullet of equal weight of a lead core. As for people who complain about X bullet accuracy, try reading the loading tips section of the Barnes manual. Regardless of how long you have loaded, the X bullet is different. It does indeed have a center of gravity, dispite one reviewers ignorance. I have hunted with X's since 1991 and what they make today far surpasses anything in the past, even the last few years.
Submitted by: Scott W
Date: 10/12/2008
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I concur with Stephen W that no other bullet performs better than the X on African game. Just one question, and hopefully Stephen W can write back to me,: why is it stated to always use a lighter X than what you normally would use on your specific calibre? Whithout knowing why, I have found exactly this, the 250gr X performs much better than the standard 286gr used in 9,3 x 62. Derick - Limpopo South Africa. derickk@mweb.co.za
Submitted by: Derick - South Africa
Date: 2/19/2008
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I hunt non dangerous game smaller than elk with a 270win believing anything larger is a waist of meat and gun. I tried the 140gr bullet in Laue of my normal favorite nosler partition on a whim. After climbing to the top of a ridge to have a look we spied a group of bucks on the next ridge. They began to down there ridge toward stream at the bottom. I held over about a yard and into the wind about the same justifying the shot by thinking no way, but way; it dropped and I was far enough to see the impacting my scope! the bullet broke the spine between the shoulders and exited the left thigh. With vary little meat damage. Ive been using them ever since. Best bullet out there and theres no led fragmentation to worry about the kids eating.
Submitted by: C.Gardner
Date: 2/2/2008
Rifle used: winchester feather weight
Caliber: 270win.
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have tryed to get this bullet to work with some sort of accuracy. But no go -changeing every thing but the bullet.Performance with game is grate--if you can hit thim.I have used thim in a marlin 35.A custom 358 Seiko woodsman.I have been relodeing for 30 yrs.And that duznot make an expert but i think barrel twist might have something todo with it.And barnes bullets have no center of grav;as do lead bullets--that mite be why they shot like a shotgun at times
Submitted by: C5ph1
Date: 10/23/2007
Rifle used: 35 marlin/358 seiko
Caliber: 358
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
It amazes me after reading these reviews, how many people shoot a controlled exapansion Bullet, when they should be shooting a faster expanding one! Like stated above, if your a Lung shooter, launch something else. If you are a Shoulder shooter stick with the X! I have used Barnes almost exclusively for many years, & knowing what to expect of a Bullet, and being a Shoulder shooter, I can say without a doubt that from Deer to Moose to African & Alaskan Game I have no reason to shoot anything else besides an X. I shoot 225 TSX in my .338 WM, and there is nothing on this Planet I wouldnt comfortably hunt with this set up.
Submitted by: X Shooter
Date: 9/9/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Yea it will group if you drop your speed 100 to 200 ft/sec. Yea it will kill them if you hit'em just right (through both shoulders)? Yea it holds together (very little expantion). May try the new triple shock; nay.
Submitted by: Jim AB
Date: 1/14/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I am very dissappointed with this bullet.I have shot two elk with it in 300 RUM, the shots were well placed but both required finishing shots.Very little blood trail and hard to find entrance and exit wound. Should not have to hammer bone to stop an animal.
Submitted by: RDR
Date: 9/17/2006
Rifle used: Remington 700 LSS
Caliber: 300 ultra mag
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 3
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use 160 Barnes X in my 280 improved.Worked up a load for elk in 1995 unfortunately did not have a chance to use it. Have killed numerous whitetails with it at ranges from one at 50 yards to one at 500 yards.Most killed between 150 to 300 yards. Always spectacular results if properly placed.No bullet majic enough to take game cleanly when gut shot.Also shot it in 1000 yard competition one time, my first. Was able to get on on paper and score even though ran out of adjustment in scope. Don't see any reason to fix what ain't broke.
Submitted by: Arlin
Date: 1/4/2006
Rifle used: Wincester 70 pre 64
Caliber: 280 imp
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
The Barnes X has performed perfectly on all game I have used it on. The bullet is extremely accurate. On white tail deer, the bullet punches a nice ragged wound channel. It always exits and leaves a huge blood trail. I have also shot elk with the x. 7mm rem Ultra mag smashed through both shoulder blades of a large bull elk, exited, and dropped him dead in his tracks. The bullet always expands, always stays together, and always exits. If you are the type hunter that believes in smashing as much bone as possible, this is the bullet for you. If you live by the lung shot, you will probably want to shoot something softer.
Submitted by: Georgia
Date: 11/16/2005
Rifle used: Custom rem 700
Caliber: 7mm Rem ultra
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 4
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Too hard - they won't open up with many chest shots. These bullets will pencil an animal with minimal damage, if they don't hit a major bone and begin to tumble. Not recommended. Also, they can be difficult to reload and get shooting accurately - you must play games with "how far off the lands."
Submitted by: Arizona Hunter
Date: 9/5/2005
Rifle used: Rem 700
Caliber: 280
Hunting performance: 2 Accuracy performance: 3
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use Barnes X for elk out of my .338 Win Mag. and 35 Whelen. Penetration is great and wound channels are plentiful. Accuracy is fine as 1 elk I had to take at 300 yards plus. Hit him were I would expect to. Will not hunt with a bullet that will not group well.
Submitted by: Bob
Date: 8/19/2005
Rifle used: Mark X
Caliber: 35 whelen
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot Barnes X in .25-06 and .270 Win. Both loads shoot one-hole groups at 100 yards. In the .25-06 I shoot a 75 gr Barnes X at 3505 fps. Last season I shot a mature whitetail at about 60 yards through the front shoulders and recovered the bullet, 75.0 gr recovered weight. Terminal performance of these bullets is phenominal. Load development is at a premium, but well worth it. Newest rifle is .270 Weatherby Mag, and it shot one hole group with 130 X. ALWAYS remember to shoot a lighter bullet in Barnes X than you would normally shoot in leaded bullets. This is the key!!!
Submitted by: Stephen W.
Date: 7/11/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I tried these in my 22-250 , Ireally didnt think there were any bullets that were not acceptible in this rifle , it shoots everything but barnes acceptible . I spent twice as much on them as noslers, ballistic tips, and even bergers are cheaper not to mention these all shoot well almost any will group under 3/4 or better, but when I tried the barnes groups went to 2 or larger at 100 Itried powder, seating depth , new brass . Nothing worked, I then tried them in my contender 223 super 16 with 10 x burris scope, same story , they look like a shotgun pattern, but I'll do my shotgun work with one shot and with a shotgun . The 223 would shoot about 1.25 average ( that is why it resides somewhere else now. I won't have one that should shoot that don't.) After the 223 I bought a 222 super 16 . I' m out of those misreable bullets and they didnt shoot in the 222 either. Will I ever get more Barnes bullets? No !!! Why should I spend that much on junk when any other old bullet will shoot just fine . ( 22-250 rem vssf timney set to 8 oz chout ult snipr with 8-32 burris signature mildot all ammo prepped and shot nickle cases trimmed to - .010 chamfered weighed charges neck sized with redding neck size dies) stock is bedded
Submitted by: weldmunkee
Date: 2/28/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have taken several moose in Alaska with the 180 Gr bullets. All moose were shot over 500 yards with a 30-378 weatherby. Have yet to recover a bullet. Tiny entry wound and exit wound. Have to say I am unimpressed with this bullet.
Submitted by: Shawn
Date: 12/26/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I agree with the accuracy thing.I have tried hot loads,cleaned barrels,bullet depth and still crappy 1-2 inch groups at a hundred. I did manage to take a mule doe with my 240 weatherby mag with the 95 grain triple shock.I dumped her at about 100 yards quartering away.The bullet made a huge wound channel and exited through the chest.This bullet is not for me,I will stick to my 90 swift scirrocos.They might cost a little more but they are 100 times better than the rotten bullets from Barnes.
Submitted by: northren lites
Date: 11/23/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have killed several deer and about a dozed hogs with this bullet in 130 gr .270. It leaves devastating wound channels with surprising little bloodshot meat. A shot through the shoulder bones typically shatters the entire shoulder bone like glass. Animals simply don't go anywhere. The bad news is Bartnes keeps changing the shape of the bullet, and the old X bullets that used to produce 1/2" groups in my .270 have now been replaced by sleaker bullets that group in the 1 3/4" range. I have disapointedly moved on.......
Submitted by: George H.
Date: 9/25/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Just had to try some of these on whitetail deer. Was standing next to son when he shot a 8 point buck thru the head at about 100 yds with a 180X in a 30-06 at 2700. Deer dropped in it's tracks of course. X bullet penciled thru..no expansion. Had a hard time finding the bullet holes. Not the kind of bullet I want to hunt deer with.
Submitted by: T. Carvelli Sr.
Date: 8/1/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
use to shoot partitions for elkout of my 340 weatherby. after seeing what the barnes x does thats all i shoot any more!! It opens up inside the animal and usally comes out doing fatal damage. great weight retention
Submitted by: quigley
Date: 7/3/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot 270, 338, and 416. Tried the X bullets in all three. Could not agree more with Morten and Andy on Accuracy. They kill, but you first have to hit one, and with 3 MOA accuracy, you are real lucky beyond 300 yards. My son and I have taken over 100 animals in the last four years from Alaska to Africa, some with Barnes, but most with Swift A Frames. Animals ranged from artic fox to elephant. We will stay with Swift.
Submitted by: rb knives
Date: 6/4/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Using a 200gr x bullet for my 300 win mag and have shot 3 moose in 4 year,42" 48" 53". The range was 150 to 534 yards(rangefinder) with the running distance of 30 yards. Need to know more? Find my load!! Good hunting
Submitted by: Dean
Date: 3/17/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have a 270 wincherster and a 25-06 That I reload for. Both rifles shoot will shoot 1 moa. However I cannot make Barnes X Bullets shoot in them. Both will not shoot less than 2 to 2.5 moa. with X Bullets. Can you help. Andy
Submitted by: Andy
Date: 2/14/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Tough bullet. The reason it is not accurate is every few years Barnes changes the shape of the bullet without telling the public and what may shoot good with one box, the next box may contain the "new bullet" shape that shoots poor in your rifle. I was told this by Connie Barnes herself!
Submitted by: MTN
Date: 12/23/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Incredible bullet!! To date my family has harvested white tail, Black Bear, Mule Deer and Elk with it. Caliber's in mention are .223 Rem up to .375 H&H Mag. Most current, I have taken my 3rd white tail buck this last weekend with my .223 shooting a 53gr X-Bullet. The shot was 107 yards, broadside and up hill. The bullet had complete penetration devestating the top of the heart and the offside lung he piled up after 20 yards. Family wont shoot anything else for big game.
Submitted by: Matt Wyman
Date: 11/17/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Then Barnes X's are probably the best bullet that I have shot through my .280. they perform really well on deer, minimal meat damage. Havent tried them on Elk, hoping to get my chance this fall.
Submitted by: r-dub
Date: 10/17/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Fantastick penetration Text book exponsion.Good accuracy. What more can be said
Submitted by: Boyd
Date: 26.06.2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
In 6mm, 30 and 338 calibers, this is the best hunting bullet I have ever used. It is hard to compete with the Swift bullets, but I have a feeling that this bullet gives a better killing power, or effect with a good hit. There is only two problems I have found with these bullets; they give a lot of fouling and it is hard to get good accuracy with them.
Submitted by: Morten S
Date: 23.02.2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy