Printer Friendly
Previous Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

PaulS
Advanced Member

USA
546 Posts

Posted - Mar 12 2014 :  12:29:33  Show Profile Send PaulS a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Well, I might as well add my favorite to the mix here. a little background:
I am a heavy equipment mechanic, a machinist and an industrial safety instructor (now a minister).
The best rust preventive that I have used on equipment, machine tools, and guns is a 50/50 mix of ATF and kerosine. Automatic Transmission Fluid has all the corrosion resistance that you could ask for but it doesn't penetrate well. Kerosine penetrates well and displaces water but doesn't lubricate very well. When you mix the two together You get a great penetrating lubricant that protects against rust. I use WD-40 to remove any surface water and then wipe the surface with a cotton cloth that has the 50/50 mix. Even in the humidity of Seattle and greater Puget sound area I have never had rust problems on machinery or my guns.

If you are going to use Lanolin be sure to get anhydrous Lanolin - otherwise the lanolin will carry water - just like brake fluid and cause rusting unless you mix it with ATF or other corrosion inhibiting oil. Treating metal that has surface rust with Xylene will remove the moisture in the metal and evaporate leaving no moisture behind. You can the treat it with the 50/50 mix of ATF and Kerosine on a cotton cloth and the rust will become a rust barrier - much like bluing on your gun.

Note: some gun oils actually promote corrosion - just be aware and watch for any discoloring of the metal.

reliable reload data comes from powder and bullet manufacturers, not so and so's web page.

NRA life member, SAF, CCRKBA - Join in the process to protect your rights.
Go to Top of Page

KB0VSO
Average Member

USA
125 Posts

Posted - Mar 15 2015 :  20:09:12  Show Profile Send KB0VSO a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Hi