.41 Magnum
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

doctor_phil

17 Posts

Posted - Aug 31 2017 :  20:28:20  Show Profile Send doctor_phil a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Looks like Alliant data for Unique lists the same CCI 300.
Go to Top of Page

Kosh75287
Advanced Member

USA
796 Posts

Posted - Sep 01 2017 :  12:33:30  Show Profile Send Kosh75287 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I've been reloading for going on 40 years, and I don't think I've ever seen a magnum pistol primer specified for data using Unique. I'm trying to remember if I ever used magnum pistol primers with it, but Unique was the first powder I used, and 4 decades is a long time. Certainly, if one entertained doing so, the safety concern mentioned by Onandaga should be kept in mind.

God bless Jeff Cooper

Carpe SCOTCH!
Go to Top of Page

budlight
Advanced Member

USA
1659 Posts

Posted - Sep 08 2017 :  01:57:24  Show Profile Send budlight a Private Message  Reply with Quote
What kind of powder measure dump can even deal with big flake powder like Unique in small amounts? I tried Hiscore 800X and you end up with all kinds of dud rounds on any progressive and the same with Unique.

If you want to weigh each and every one..... like a dumb ........ I can't say the words for anyone advising the use of flake powder in a pistol round.

These are modern days and you don't have to be stuck in the 40 year old mind set

http://www.shootingtimes.com/files/2014/08/hodgdon_CFE_pistol_powder_comparison.jpg

Edited by - budlight on Sep 08 2017 01:59:48
Go to Top of Page

budlight
Advanced Member

USA
1659 Posts

Posted - Sep 08 2017 :  02:14:59  Show Profile Send budlight a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I use Ramshot Silhouette for light weight rounds. Hodgdons longshot, ramshot enforcer and AA 4100.

Get up to date!
Go to Top of Page

Kosh75287
Advanced Member

USA
796 Posts