Reloader's Nest Forum
Reloader's Nest Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Reloading General
 General forum
 .223/5.56 COAL "cartridge overall length"
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

diverdon
Starting Member

USA
2 Posts

Posted - Aug 10 2012 :  22:44:40  Show Profile Send diverdon a Private Message  Reply with Quote

Hello , As you might guess I am new to reloading and trying to set up my press for bullet seating . I have read that the standard length of the .223/5.56 cartridge is supposto be 2.26 inches .. I am ready to set this die up and will be happy to set it to the 2.26 I read about in several places on the internet however the factory ammo I have and have been using is measured at only 2.17 to 2.19 this seems a bit shorter than what I am thinking it should be from what I've read .
The factory ammo has worked fine in my rifle .. Spikes Tactical 16 inch barrel. ar15 . I am not sure what length to set the ammo I'm making ..
I have heard something about how the longer you can set your ammo the more accurate it will be as it has less time/length to enguage in the rifleing . The other side is if you make it too long it might not "feed" reliabley ?/

Thank You for any help you can give me .. Whodathought it would e so confusing.. Don J.

dh2
Advanced Member

696 Posts

Posted - Aug 11 2012 :  09:25:30  Show Profile Send dh2 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
for my AR-15 I set the bullets as long as the magizane will allow.
Go to Top of Page

ethmoid1999
Advanced Member

USA
3646 Posts

Posted - Aug 11 2012 :  11:05:05  Show Profile Send ethmoid1999 a Private Message  Reply with Quote